This Week In Racing History



Oak Queen won her second successive Hobart 685 Yards Championship, in 1960. The champion stayer had scored in near track record time in 1959 and in 1960 defeated Peter’s Treasure (the 1959 Hobart Thousand winner, and 1960 Hobart Thousand third placegetter) by three-quarters of a length in 39.0.

Worth Doing took his career record to three starts for three wins when victorious by 15 lengths over 375 metres at Orange in 1988, setting a new track record of 21.76.


After agitation from owners and trainers, introduced a new 385 yards distance in 1954, replacing a contentious 350 yards distance that had been described as a ‘mad scramble’. The new boxes were set away in a chute which gave a 50-yard (45-metre) run to the first bend.

Arvo’s Junior won the 2003 (715 metres, Sandown Park) by five lengths from Queensland stayer Perfect Heart, running 42.21 to set a new race record


Festival Time scored by eight lengths over 340 yards (311 metres) at Beenleigh in 1960 and running 18.4, clipping 5/10ths off the track record. Festival Time had won the 1959 Harold Park Classic.

My Souvenir set a new track record time of 31.21 for the 550 metres distance at in 1998. The time was later equalled by Gozo Farmer.


Sentinel defeated the Northern Rivers champion Owataboy in a match race held over 520 yards (475 metres) at Casino in 1936. Sentinel won by three lengths and set a new track record of 28.7. He had beaten the same greyhound in a match race at Murwillumbah just eight days earlier.

Chivalry Lane took out the 1975 over 530 metres at Wentworth Park. Chivalry Lane ran a best of the night 31.36, defeating Odious by a length, thereby reversing their semi-final placings. Clinton Lee was third.


Chief Havoc took out the 1946 Tamworth Derby by 10 lengths, running the 490 yards (448 metres) in 26.9, a new track record.

The 1995 McKenna Memorial (715 metres, Sandown Park) was taken out by local stayer Keon Star. The Rocky Crisafi-trained greyhound downed first reserve Blossom Star.

won the 2008 Cup (480 metres), defeating Birthday Boy and with star sprinter El Galo only fifth.


stayer Pearl Larricki won the 2001 McKenna Memorial (715 metres at Sandown Park), defeating Tip Top Tears by a length and a half with Proven Dream third.

Zin Zin Zanziba took out the 2007 Tedesco Formal Wear Trophy over 720 metres at Wentworth Park, the last occasion the event was held, defeating Alarming Jan by half a length with Lyn’s Daisy a half length away third. Trained by Tim Anagnastopoulos, Zin Zin Zanziba collected $10,000 for the victory.



West Cape took out the 1989 Gold Coast Cup (457 metres at Parklands), downing Daiwa by just over two lengths in a fast 25.75. Victorian speedster Rumpus Brandi was third ahead of Acacia Ablaze.

Regional Image set a new track record time of 31.23 for the 531 metres trip at Gawler in 2003.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments