This Week In Racing History

Osti’s Style raced away to score by just over two lengths from Anthem and Railway Road in the 1994 final of the Canberra Cup. Osti’s Style overcame box five and ran a fast 30.68 for the 530 metres trip.

Pure Octane downed Benny’s Toll by three-quarters of a length in the 2005 Paws of Thunder at Wentworth Park, running a new race record time of 29.77 for the 520 metres journey. This clipped a substantial 28/100ths off the previous race record, jointly held by Stately Bird and Some Secret.

Brilliant puppy Tempix took out the 1978 Silver Chief Classic, run over 511 metres at Olympic Park, defeating Sharp Roo by just over a length in a quick 30.60. It was the first time the Silver Chief had been run in October.

Dave’s Mentor downed Frozen Keysy and Railroad Wish to annex the 2000 Silver Chief Classic, the first to be run over 525 metres at The Meadows. Dave’s Mentor earned $40,000 for the victory.

Gallant Seagull took out the 1998 Sydney Cup (Wentworth Park, 720 metres) by just over three lengths from Rhonda’s Cruiser with John Beam third. Among the well beaten fancied runners were Red Mystique (fifth) and Victorian stayer Tonight’s Wish (eighth).

The Ray Gilroy-trained Always Late used box one to full advantage to take out the 1975 Tasmanian Gold Cup (also known as the Hobart Gold Cup), run over 500 metres at Hobart, scoring in a fair 30.00.

Te Amo downed Dyna Nalin and Zelemar Fever to win the 2013 Mandurah Cup for trainer Linda Britton, running a fast 27.26 for the 490 metres journey.

South Australian star Kate’s A Scandal exited box one over 511 metres at Olympic Park and scored a three and a half lengths win in the 1981 National Sprint Championship, downing Victorian sprinter Picture This with Queenslander Thor’s Edition third. The victory was her 15th in succession, a new Australian record for consecutive wins.

China Lady ran 26.5 to set a new track record for 500 yards at Harold Park, in 1948. That time was later equalled by greyhounds of the calibre of Macareena and Plunkett’s Pride and was not broken until August 1957 when Top Linen ran 26.4.

Carnival Boy set a new track record time of 29.29 for 507 metres at Dapto in 1988 for trainer Alan Pringle, in what was his first official race start.

The Graeme Bate-trained Suellen Bale scored a strong victory in the 2001 Paws of Thunder over 520 metres at Wentworth Park, defeating Vi’s Magic and Jeanie’s Queen. It was the first time the race had been worth $100,000 to the winner.

Fire Lad set a race record 43.01 in taking out the 1995 Sydney Cup for trainer Graeme Bate, becoming the first Victorian stayer to win the event on the loam surface. Fire Lad defeated Dave’s Cruiser by a length and a half with Ultra Desire third. Queensland champion Boronia Blossom was sixth.

Foolish Girl won the 2005 running of The Schweppes, the last to be conducted over the 530 metres distance. Trained by John Iwanyk, Foolish Girl won by a length from Token Royale, ran 30.67 and earned $20,000.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments