This Week in Racing History



Shan’s Tempest took out the 1973 final, over 511 metres at , downing Dougie’s Rose by five and a half lengths with Tasmanian contender Holding Premier third. This was the first year which permitted both dogs and bitches to compete. The race, inaugurated in 1970, had been previously restricted to male greyhounds.


Ginger’s Charm won the 1996 by five lengths from Stylish Hua. It was the last time the race was conducted in January until 2003. Later that year a second Devonport Cup was held for 1996, in October. Ginger’s Charm went on to make the 1997 final, finishing second to the champion Shantung Tiger.

Moe’s Tavern defeated Smart Attitude and Sabryn Bale in the 1999 over 720 metres at Wentworth Park. Trainer Peter Giles also had Bravest Tears in the final (seventh).


In what would prove to be a controversial result, the 2000 Australian Cup final was taken out by Arvo’s Express in a race record 29.92 over 518 metres at the for trainer . Second placegetter Hotshow Vintage would later be disqualified, the first time this had ever happened in the long history of the prestigious race.


Elegant Tears beat a hot field to take out the 1997 Penrith Oaks over 530 metres at Penrith. She defeated Island Bird by one length with Emily’s Idol third. Among the unplaced division were the smart Frosty’s Title and Kedo’s Millie.

downed Vee Best Vane and Radley Bale in the 2011 Warragul Cup final, the first to be run over the new 460 metres distance. El Grand Senor ran 25.57.


Handicap racing was first introduced at Wentworth Park in 1953. Winners on the night included Robin Buchanan (off 6 yards) and Shy Baldy, who won the 790 yards (722 metres) event from scratch. Robin Buchanan had won the inaugural Harold Park Bi-Annual Classic (later called the Bi-Annual Classic and now known as the Memorial) in 1952.

The 1984 XXXX Trophy final, run over 558 metres at the Gabba, was taken out by the brilliant NSW sprinter Acacia Park who downed Tempix Charm by four lengths with another NSW star, Turbo Top, a length and a half away third.


Chief Havoc equalled Robert Kent’s seven-year-old track record when he won the 800 yards (732 metres) Championship at Harold Park in 1947. Starting at 1/3 ($1.66), the only greyhound backed to beat Chief Havoc was Rocality (4/1; $5.00), who eventually finished second. All the rest started at 25/1 ($26.00) or longer. Chief Havoc led from the first turn and scored by four lengths in 44.5. The victory took his to almost £1,000.


The Idol, a hurdler who had won nine in a row in NSW, before falling and being injured at his next start in March 1930, made his reappearance at Harold Park in 1931, running a valiant second in a handicap hurdle.

The Darren McDonald-trained Magnificent Love ran a race record 23.63 over the 424 metres at Warragul to take out the 2007 Warragul Cup. Runner-up Vapour Whirl had won the race in 2006 and was attempting to become the first chaser to win the event two years running. The Warragul Cup was first run in 1969.

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments