This week in racing history



Champion West Australian sprinter Reggemite scored by nine and a half lengths over 530 metres at in 1999 and ran a new track record time of 30.10. At his previous start, Reggemite had run seventh in the Australian Cup final.

Two track records fell on the same day in 2010, at Casino. ran 26.91 to set new figures for the 484 metres journey while Allegro Charm ran 34.84 to establish a new time standard for 620 metres.


The Carolyn Reinke-trained Dalalla downed Anna Gee and Kobble Creek to win the 2 1999 All Stars Invitation over 720 metres at Wentworth Park.

On the remodelled track at , Magic Diva ran 21.70 in 2014 to break ’s 390-metre track record by 3/100ths while Hailstorm Billy sped over the 650 metres trip in 37.12 to slice 8/100ths off the previous record, held by Red Andy.


The 1970 final, run over 580 yards (530 metres) at Wentworth Park, saw Tidal Mist prevail by half a head over Bokave with Lucky Sprite just a half length away third. Tidal Mist ran 31.4 to equal the race record set in 1965 by West Opal and matched by Anne Lewis in 1969.

Tumbling Dice took out the 1974 Australian Marathon, run over 942 metres at Dapto, by a nose from Smarty Pants with Sky Song third. Tumbling Dice ran the trip in 58.70. On the same night, the Consolation Marathon was won by the former New Zealand stayer Muldoon, who scored by seven lengths in a quick 58.47.


The 1995 Cup was annexed by Malawi Law who scored by two and a half lengths from in a fast 25.06 and picked up $10,000 for the victory. Northern Legend, later a top-flight stayer, finished fifth.


The 10th running of the Australian Marathon, in 1972, held at Dapto over 1030 yards (942 metres), saw Northville Lady establish a new track record time of 57.8 as she defeated Sally Alla by just over a length with Klaberjass a neck away third. The Consolation Marathon was won by Lily Takiri by three lengths in 58.2


Ten Guitars, trained by Ted Lovelace, won the 1983 final for Victoria, defeating Tasmanian Lygon Leader by just over a length over the 725 metres trip at Hobart. Queensland finalist Pewter Frost was third.


Victorian sprinter Spanish Dancer won the 1972 National Futurity for owner-trainer Michael Jennkos, scoring by five lengths over fellow Victorian Varley in a fast 31.2 for the 530 metres journey at Wentworth Park. Spanish Dancer had equalled the long-standing track record of 30.8 in winning her semi-final, but after the Futurity success she never won another race in the city.

The 2007 Victoria Cup, run as a best-8 event for the first time, over 699 metres at Cranbourne, was taken out by Flashing Floods from Elektra and Spalding. Flashing Floods scored by just over 10 lengths in a fast 41.96.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments