Jason Thompson Lands Maiden Easter Egg With Don’t Knocka Him

In front of a bumper crowd, leading Victorian trainer Jason Thompson claimed his maiden victory in the One Macro Meats Golden Easter Egg at Wentworth Park on Saturday
night with Don't Knocka Him ($2.10).

Ideally drawn from box one in the $250,000 to-the-winner feature, the -owned race favourite Don't Knocka Him – a son of – defeated second favourite Dyna Bert ($4.60) by 1 ¼ lengths, with the Brendan Wheeler-trained Desalle Bale ($7.90) third another 1½ lengths away. It was a perfect finale to the series for Thompson, with the Golden Easter Egg one of the few Group 1 races that has eluded the Pearcedale mentor throughout his decorated training career.

Thompson was beaming following the race.

“What a thrill, it's great to take out the Golden Easter Egg,” Thompson said.

The old adage that ‘boxes win big races' certainly rung true, with Don't Knocka Him using the fence to rail underneath Desalle Bale in running. From there victory was never in doubt for the 14-race winner – not three years of age until November. Time for the final was a race record run of 29.60 after sections of 5.38 (4) and 13.78.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Fancy Dean ($9.40), 5th Wez Da Risk ($23.60), 6th El Caballo ($45.20) 7th Hot Irish ($7.40) and Time And Money ($24.20).

Don't Knocka Him is raced by Reg Kay and is trained by Jason Thompson at Pearcedale in Victoria. By Knocka Norris form Surf Queen ( x Queen Size). He is a Blue Brindle Dog whelped November 2009 he has won 14 of his 30 starts and has been placed on 12 occasions and with the $250,000 first prize for the Golden Easter Egg it took his current stake earnings to $286,278.

Listed below is the Golden Easter Egg honour roll it has been won by some superstar sprinters over the years including five Hall of Famers. First conducted in 1990 when won by the Jim Coleman trained the race quickly took pride of place in the Harbour city. It is one of most sought after on the AGRA and each year attracts the best sprinters racing in the country, all vying for not only the outstanding first prize but also the glory and their place in history as winners of the Egg.

Golden Easter Egg Honour Roll

1990 Ultra Sense, 1991 Highly Blessed, 1992 Jessica Casey, 1993 Billy Binjang, 1994 Mancunian Girl, 1995 Malawi Law, 1996 , 1997 Bahama Image, 1998 Rapid Journey, 1999 Faithful Hawk, 2000 Stately Bird, 2001 Brett Lee, 2002 Carlisle Jack, 2003 Cyrus The Virus, 2004 Bogie Leigh, 2005 , 2006 Edie Beuchamp, 2007 Slater, 2008 Blazing Token, 2009 Dana Beatrice, 2010 , 2011 , 2012 Don't Knocka Him

2012 Golden Easter Egg Replay

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments