Lynlea’s King Classic Win For Langton

Lynleas King Winning The 2008 Warrnambool ClassicLynlea’s King ($6.30) couldn’t have been more impressive in winning the Macey’s Bistro Classic.

Racing to the lead halfway down the back straight, Lynlea’s King showed a brilliant turn of mid race speed to put a four lengths’ gap on the field before powering away in the run home, recording a handy time of 25.11 after sections of 6.49 and 12.30.

In a race final that appeared very even on paper after last week’s heats Shamrock’s Moss ($2.80) started popular elect with punters. After some early trouble he knuckled down to his task finishing second some two and half lengths from the winner. Another well fancied finalist Classic Diva ($4.30) was a long way back third.

It was another big race triumph for owner-trainer–breeder and her second Warrnambool Classic having won the event in 2006 with Auf Wiedersehen.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th ($8.60), 5th ($37.90), 6th Paragon Patch ($5.40) 7th Current Time ($35.10) and ($12.50).

Lynlea’s King is a Black dog whelped February 2006 by Return The King from Lynlea Girl (Lansley Bale x Gingernut Lady) he is raced and trained by Angela Langton. Lynlea’s King has raced 28 times for 10 wins and eight placings, adding the Classic’s first prize of $60,000 his overall stake earnings sky rocked to $84,745.

The win was all the more sweeter for Langton, as not only did she breed Lynlea’s King herself, the dog is sired by her stud dog, Return The King; and, she was forced to rear and hand feed the whole litter when the dam, Lynlea Girl; died suddenly after whelping Lynlea’s King’s litter when the pups were only 12 hours old.

The Warrnambool Classic was first conducted by the club in 1991 with greyhound pups nominated in record numbers during early 1990. Like any event of its type the actual race is very difficult to win given the length of time involved from rearing to racing. The Honour roll contains some outstanding winners some of which have gone on to win one features and in the case of inducted into the .

1991 Kinta’s Way, 1992 Wild Pirate, 1993 Dinney’s Host, 1994 New Locomotion, 1995 Prince Of Thiefs, 1996 Blue Volcano, 1997 Fine Carousel, 1998 Witch Honcho, 1999 At The Helm, 2000 Our Daisy, 2001 Brett Lee, 2002 Zed Three, 2003 Brumby Lad, 2004 That’s Critical, 2005 Ace Hi Rumble, 2006 Auf Wiedersehen and 2007 Deception Bay.

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments