Bye Bye Bucks Wins 2012 Dapto Megastar

scored his first win at level when he took out the $40,000 Group 2 Sportingbet at Dapto on Thursday night.

Having his first ever career start at the Dapto track, Bye Bye Bucks ($6.80) jumped straight to the front from box eight and was never headed, winning by 5 1/2 lengths over Ritza Ryder ($9) and Street Boss ($62.50), in a time of 29.75.

Bye Bye Bucks’ trainer Ken Lewis said he went into the Sportingbet Megastar with some concerns after the greyhound’s indifferent trial at Dapto the week before. Those concerns soon disappeared, however, after Bye Bye Bucks’ brilliant beginning.

“I knew if he could just cross the field at the start he would be very hard to run down, and he did exactly that,” Lewis said. For owner Glen Jones the win was reward for 15 years of owning greyhounds. “I am blessed to own a greyhound . Winning a race like the (Sportingbet Megastar) is just a dream come true. It’s just the best feeling,” Jones said.

Bye Bye Bucks now has 18 wins from 35 career starts and career earnings of more than $117,000. Of the beaten brigade, Ritza Ryder did not lose any admirers, putting in a terrific win despite being checked on the first turn. He will now head to for the heats of the NSW State Sprint.

Street Boss, meanwhile, put in the run of his career, beating home many of his more fancied rivals.

The race favourite, ($3.10), was slowly away and never got into the race, finishing in seventh position.

Bye Bye Bucks is a black dog whelped April 2010 by from See Ya Senorita ( x Bazwill) he is raced by Glen Jones and trained by Ken Lewis from Raby in New South Wales. He has raced 35 times for 18 wins and 10 placings, adding the Megastar Invitation Final’s first prize of $40,000 it took his overall stake earnings to $117,020.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th El Brooklyn ($4.30), 5th Billy The Sid ($3.40), 6th Fancy Dean ($21.60) 7th Glen Gallon ($3.10) and Final Word ($59.30).
The first winner of the Megastar Dapto invitational in 2010 was and in 2011 it was won by Oaks Road.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More Greyhounds News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments