This Week In Greyhound Racing History



Jewel Stand, the first long distance ‘star' of racing behind a mechanical lure, set a new track record time of 53.6 for the 920 yards (841 metres) at the Epping (Harold Park) course in 1927.

Playgirl Bonnie won the 1987 Laurels Classic (511 metres, Sandown Park) by five and a half lengths from Summer Jade and running a race record 30.57.

Just Winsome defeated Winsome Min by three lengths in the 2005 (520 metres, ) with Queen Cleopatra two lengths away third.


Chariot Charm defeated by Billy Vee (Victoria) by half a head with Best Sun four lengths away third in the 1965 National Derby, run over 580 yards at Wentworth Park.

Elite State set a new race record time of 29.97 for the 520 metres trip at Albion Park in taking out the 2003 by almost four lengths from Happy Chappy and Robust Character.

The 2004 Young Star Classic (520 metres, Wentworth Park) fell to Eiffella who defeated by one length with Miss Bekkie Lee eight lengths away third. Eiffella ran 30.22 to snare the $15,000 first prize.


South Australian champion stayer Yodel High took out the 1974 Gabba Thousand, run over 895 metres at the Gabba, running 54.52 and defeating the likes of NSW stayers Captain Winter (third) and Valodia (fourth).

Brilliant sprinter New Tears ran 23.38 to set a new track record for 420 metres at Tweed Heads in 1987.


General Jeff defeated Big Pinch by three lengths in a contested over 530 metres at Wentworth Park in 1980. General Jeff ran 30.89 on a wet track and picked up $7,000 for the success. This was his first run back from a 12-week spell.

Bye Bye Bucks downed Ritza Ryder by five and a half lengths to win the 2012 Megastar (520 metres). Bye Bye Bucks ran 29.75 against a top-class field which included El Brooklyn (fourth), Billy The Sid (fifth) and Glen Gallon (sixth).


The 1959 Interstate Invitation took place over 675 yards at Melbourne and was taken out by NSW contestant Town Ghost who scored by two and a half lengths from Dashing Ros (Victoria) with Oak Queen (Tasmania) eight lengths away third and Idle Mate (Victoria) fourth and last.

Buka Sunset won the 1987 Victoria Bitter Trophy ( Park, 511 metres), defeating Hot Spell by three and a half lengths in 29.94 for trainer Alec Reid.


Sky Hazzard won the 2007 AWM Distance Title (725 metres, Meadows) by a neck from Cash In Transit with Miss Grub three-quarters of a length away third. Sky Hazzard returned in 2008 and won the event again to become the only greyhound to take the race twice.


Blackliner overcame box six to take out the 1972 Laurels Classic at Sandown. This was the last run over 507 metres (555 yards). Blackliner earned $3,300 first prize money, and defeated Shirley Opal by a length and a half.

The -trained took out the 2010 Dapto Megastars (520 metres) by half a length from Certain Magic with Fedex third.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments