Shepparton set for thrilling 2020 Group 3 Northern Districts Final

What 2020 Final
Where Greyhound Club, 7580 Valley Hwy Kialla VIC 3631
When Saturday, October 31, 2020
Prizemoney $25,000 to the winner
Group Status Group 3
Distance 450m
Conditions Vic bred. No metro wins. Raced at least twice at Shepparton. Earnt less than $25,000 in prize money
Previous Winner | Trainer:

Greyhound racing's Group 3 Northern Districts Cup (450m) will be held at Shepparton on Saturday night, with the final offering $35,500 in prize money.

First run in 2014, the event has a unique criteria in that it is open only to greyhounds that are bred in Victoria, have not won in the city, have raced on at least two occasions at Shepparton and not won more than $25,000 in prize money.

With Saturday night's final, to be run at 8.32pm, carrying a first prize of $25,000, the winner will effectively double their career earnings at the very least.

Four heats of the Northern Districts Cup were run on Monday night with the first two place getters making it through to the final. The final brings together a number of outstanding prospects including the fastest heat winner Sonny Daze, Smart As Jack (won 11 from 20) and Rolling Stone, who has won seven from 12 and never missed a place.

Local hopes will be pinned on Smart As Jack, trained at Stanhope by , and half-siblings All Inn Abby and All Inn Morgan, both trained at Harston by .

Saturday night's race meeting is supported by four feature memorial races named in honour of prominent contributors to greyhound racing at Shepparton – Alec Reid, Doug Ferremi, Keith Warburton and Kel Tremellen.

There'll also be plenty of interest in the performance of Benchester in the $6,500 to-the-winner Alec Reid Dash For Cash (385m), after the Mark Morrissey-trained greyhound broke Shepparton's 385m on Monday night with a sizzling win in 21.42sec. He'll line up in Race 5 at 8.08pm.


  1. KALTER (Alice Peat, Axedale)
  2. SONNY DAZE (Rodney Clark, Toolleen)
  3. SMART AS JACK (Adele Powell, Stanhope)
  4. MAGIC BULLDOZER (Matthew Marshall, Bacchus Marsh)
  5. ROLLING STONE (Karen Pitt, Pearcedale)
  6. BETT'S BLUES (, Parwan)
  7. ALL INN ABBY (Tony Duncan, Harston)
  8. ALL INN MORGAN (Tony Duncan, Harston)
  9. Reserves

  10. POCORN PAYOUT (Alice Peat, Axedale)
  11. SO SAY (Jason Whybrow, Wangaratta)


  • Sonny Daze 25.06sec (Best)
  • Rolling Stone 25.27sec
  • Bett's Blues 25.23sec
  • All Inn Morgan 25.44sec

Northern Districts Cup Previous Winners

  • 2014 Dewana Result (, Edithvale VIC)
  • 2015 Soda Lad (Tanya Auld, Tatura VIC)
  • 2016 Bear's Gold (Keith Hellmuth, Pearcedale, VIC)
  • 2017 (May) Sure To Excite (Graham James, Woodleigh VIC)
  • 2017 (Nov) Crook Me Kindly (Jessica Sharp, Avalon VIC)
  • 2018 Circus Oasis (Peter Dapiran, Northwood VIC)
  • 2019 Swift Current (Michael Carter, Kialla VIC)
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments