Silver Chief Final For The Ages – Young Guns To Clash On New Years Day

The 2012 greyhound season is set to start off with a bang as The host a star-studded 1 AJS Corporation Silver Chief final over 525 metres on New Year’s Day.

All the big guns progressed safely through to Sunday night’s $75,000-to-the-winner final, despite the shock defeat of Heston Bale, who finished second behind the underrated Godsend to qualify for the first Group final of his much-publicised career.

Two greyhounds who continued on from their amazing heat efforts were Cape Hawke and Queensland star Glen Gallon, both stopping the clock at 29.77 (Best of Night) in their respective semi-finals. Cape Hawke – a Ballarat and finalist – will start from box seven in the January 1 final, while Glen Gallon’s chances were dealt a blow after drawing away from his preferred rails draw in box eight.

Track record holder Heston Bale will start from box three, seemingly surrounded by early speed, while giant killer Godsend – who finished second in the Group 2 Great Chase at in November – has drawn perfectly in box one.

Gates open at 6pm on New Year’s Day for the running of the Group 1 AJS Corporation Silver Chief, which will include heaps of free kids entertainment, mystery bets with great bonuses and bikes to be won. Dining packages are still available.

Check out Glen Gallon, Cape Hawke, Godsend and Hutmaker winning their semi finals in the videos below.

2012 Silver Chief Final Box Draw

    $75,000 to winner. Group 1. 525m. For Male greyhounds
  • Box 1 – Godsend – – 30.02
  • Box 2 – Hutmaker – – 29.85
  • Box 3 – Heston Bale – Andrea Dailly – 29.45rec
  • Box 4 – McCosker Speed – – NBT
  • Box 5 – Whispering Wind – Angela Langton – 30.21
  • Box 6 – Soda Boy – – 30.10
  • Box 7 – Cape Hawke – Jamie Ennis – 29.73
  • Box 8 – Glen Gallon – – 29.69
  • No. 9 – Mepunga Geordie – – 30.39
  • No.10 – Flip Bale – Graeme Bate – 30.57

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments