Mystic Apple’s 2011 Sale Cup

Mystic Apple ($6.30) has won the Group 1 Cup in a performance that has been a long time in the making.

The Val Awramenko trained star had never won a group race before tonight despite showing immense ability throughout his career.

It was a mystery to Awramenko why Mystic Apple hadn't won at group level but to the greyhound's credit, he saved his big performance for a night fitting of the occasion.

The 3,000 strong crowd were treated to the whole gamut of greyhound racing; experiencing it through the bright sunlight the warm twilight and the clear night sky. Patrons clamoured along the fences and under the shade sales in groups that ranged from: families with young children; teenagers enjoying a night out; 20 something's making the most of a public holiday the next day; and that have lived with the sport their whole lives.

The eight greyhounds were introduced to the crowd whilst the night was in full-swing with the biggest cheer seeming to come for the trained NSW raider Zipping Lad. The race itself saw Mystic Apple break to an early lead with Zipping Lad ($2.60) 3-4 lengths second.

Zipping Lad loomed ominously rounding the final turn but Mystic Apple was able to hold on whilst Granduer ($4.40) put in another outstanding run to finish third. Time for the final was 37.42 with sections of 6.09 and 16.10.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Lasting Effect ($21.70), 5th Knocka Knows All ($23.10), 6th ($10.80) 7th Kinga Will ($5.20) and Kinga Zac ($23.10).

Mystic Apple is raced and trained by Val Awramenko, he is a Brindle dog whelped March 2008 by from Spiral Siyan (Spiral Nikita x Flight And Life). Mystic Apple has won 26 of his 54 starts and has been placed on 10 occasions and with the $75,000 first prize for the it took his current stake earnings to $192,600.

The seemingly bold move in 2001 to run the Sale Cup over the 630m journey, with a first prize of $20,000, produced an outstanding result with brilliant front running stayer, Bentley Babe, etching her name on the Cup Honour role.

Again in 2003 a major track restructure unveiled a brand new circuit on April 10th extensive work had been carried out after it closed in January. Under the guidance of track designer Brian Barrington Sale had an extreme makeover, with the new distances becoming 440, 520 and 650 metres. The track was also widened to 7 metres, with both straights being realigned.

The Cup last year became the richest country cup in Australia with a first prize of $50,000 and this year it maintained its Group 1 status with a first prize of $75,000.

The Cup has been won by some great champions and below is the full honour roll as we currently know it.

Sale Cup Honour Roll

1968 Unknown, 1969 Unknown, 1970 Radiant Quan, 1971 Stripper Sam, 1972 Midnight Avon, 1973 Rerod, 1974 Rebel Rena, 1975 Shikar, 1976 Dargaville, 1977 Daalko Boy, 1978 Cascilla's Lad, 1979 Newmore's Heart, 1980 Bushy Prince, 1981 Forceful Lad, 1982 Charcia, 1983 Colinda Flyer, 1984 Chariot Supreme, 1985 Johnny Caprice, 1986 Top Shroud, 1987 Quick Royal, 1988 Blackman Ray, 1989 Mr Chatters, 1990 Chief Magundi, 1991Malawi's Prince, 1992 Premier Pete, 1993 Linebacker, 1994 Jamb Kid, 1995 Wylie Boy, 1996 Wylie Boy, 1997 Shannen's Storm, 1998 Awesome Assassin, 1999 Brookside Red, 2000 Vino Veritas, 2001 Bentley Babe, 2002 Beljay Velvet, 2003 Draino, 2004 Arvo's Junior 2005 Hercules, 2006 , 2007 , 2008 , 2009 Mantra Lad, 2010 Symmetry, 2011 Mystic Apple.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments