This week in racing history



Shan’s Tempest won the 1973 Maturity Classic by five-and-a-half lengths from Dougie’s Rose and Tasmanian sprinter Holding Premier, running the 511 metres at in 30.33. This was the first year the Maturity Classic was open to female greyhounds.

Pippa McLaren won the 2004 South Australian Country Cup, run over 515 metres at Angle Park. From box one Pippa McLaren defeated French Kiss and Dakota Pixie.


Freewheeler, trained by , won the 1989 Black Douglas at Olympic Park, scoring by three-and-a-half lengths from Bee Sting with Grey Coin five-and-a-half lengths away third.

Moe’s Tavern gave yet another win in a major staying event by winning the 1999 Association Cup at Wentworth Park. Moe’s Tavern defeated classy local stayer Smart Attitude by a length and a half for trainer , whose other finalist, Bravest Tears, came home seventh.

Waterview Star defeated Excite Ability and Arvo’s Junior to take out the 2003 Adelaide Cup, earning $50,000 for trainer Peter Dapiran.


Arctic Fire, having only his third race start, equalled the five-year-old track and world record for 457 metres in 1973 when he ran 26.0 at Harold Park. The Alan Pringle-owned and trained speedster was almost immediately retired to stud.

Arvo’s Express defeated Hotshow Vintage and Labyrinth to take out the 2000 Australian Cup in a race record 29.92 for the 518 metres trip at . The race became mired in controversy when Hotshow Vintage was later disqualified. It was also the last time the Australian Cup final took place in January.


El Grand Senor won the first to be held over the new distance of 460 metres, in 2011. Owned and trained by Carolyn Jones, El Grand Senor collected $28,000 for the win, setting a race record 25.57.


A greyhound track with an inside hare opened at Hobart Park, New Lambton (Broadmeadow) in Newcastle in 1928. Laurel Sharp, Trycourt, George, Lord Bramble, King Brown, Thora Limes, Supreme Lady, Fearless Footsteps were the eight winners at the first meeting.

NSW sprinter Acacia Park won the 1984 XXXX Trophy (now the ) over 558 metres at the Gabba, downing Tempix Charm and fellow NSW finalist Turbo Top.


The first running of the Sir Arthur Rylah Sapphire Classic at Olympic Park took place in 1983. Previously the event had been held at . Rocky Pyramid beat Tretanni Belle by six-and-a-half lengths in a hollow victory.

The 1984 Hobart Thousand was won by Double Time from the classy Highland Port and future champion stayer Sheila’s Teresa. The disappointment of the 497 metres race was Victorian sprinter , which led before fading into fourth place. His trainer Kevin Richards later said Chariot Supreme had injured himself in running.


Possibly a unique occurrence took place at the Gabba greyhound track in 1928 when goat races took place alongside greyhound races. The track had greyhound races over 550 and 825 yards, but the goat races were conducted over a shorter distance and were apparently popular with the crowd.

The Canberra greyhound track was officially opened, in 1979.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments