Vee Man Vane’s Group 2 2008 Ballarat Cup

2008 Ballarat Cup Winners Vee Man Vane & Trainer Jamie Ennis
Six months ago the racing future of was in doubt. Wednesday night he claimed his biggest win as champion of the $30,000 Greyhound Cup at Morshead Park.

Vee Man Vane ($3.40) bounded out of box eight, showing no trace of the three wrist operations that sidelined him earlier this year.

He clocked a personal best time of 25.14 seconds on the 450-metre Ballarat track for the win.

Lara kennel-mate and race favourite ($2) drew the other side of the track, in one, and fought hard to chase down his rival to finish second.

The pair’s trainer has little time to celebrate the double, rushing back to prepare Go Go Frederico for the next race.

“I am proud of both dogs…(Vee Man Vale) is going as good as ever and I’m hoping this is the start of some great racing for him,” Ennis said.

“Mogambo’s just a good honest dog, who fought well but was outdone by a better dog on the track.”

Tunza Pace ($33) placed third in his first final while promising chaser Shanahan Bale finished fourth.

A victory has topped Vee Man Vane’s stakes up to $71,080.

Ennis said the newly crowned champion would take a light break over Christmas before chasing more big prizemoney in group two events.

The explosive dog has been in impressive form leading into the Cup, including a heat win in 25.18 seconds, and setting 390m track records at Shepparton and Warrnambool in his past two starts.

Vee Man Vale has already sired two litters of pups, which Ennis hoped would produce a new generation of track speedsters.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order: Shanahan Bale ($12.90), ($6.10), Swan Marsh ($38.20), Sisco Cruise ($21.20) and Pedro’s Reality ($13.50).

Vee Man Vane is a Black & White Dog whelped April 2005 by Solve The Puzzle from Blue Girl Vane (Token Prince x Subjective), he is raced by Jean Lewis and trained by Jamie Ennis at Lara. Vee Man Vane has raced 47 times for 25 wins and 12 placings and with the $30,000 first prize for the Ballarat Cup it took his overall stake earnings to $71,080.

The Ballarat Cup was first held at the old Broadway Park complex in 1960 over 496 yards.

The first winner was Rebby Boy a greyhound sired by Rookie Rebel below is the honour Roll of past winners.

    Ballarat Cup Honour Roll
  • 1960 Rebby Boy
  • 1961 Dalemee
  • 1962 Eerie Town
  • 1963 Alrarniv
  • 1964 Unknown
  • 1965 Unknown
  • 1966 Unknown
  • 1967 Unknown
  • 1968 Baytown’s Son
  • 1969 My Gina
  • 1970 Unknown
  • 1971 Fawn Metal
  • 1972 Master Caleb
  • 1973 She’s My Girl
  • 1974 Fawn Capri
  • 1975 Ben Boro
  • 1976 Ernie Diro
  • 1977 Not Held
  • 1978 Not Held
  • 1979 Nelson’s Mate
  • 1980 Swift As Light
  • 1981 Johnny’s Monaro
  • 1982 Satan’s Shroud
  • 1983 Total Claim
  • 1984 Lady Lilly
  • 1985 Trisun
  • 1986 Not Held
  • 1987 Shining Chariot
  • 1988 Kepler
  • 1989 Hay Dinney
  • 1990 Welcome Stranger
  • 1991 Malawi’s Prince
  • 1992 Wild Pirate
  • 1993 Dallas Duo
  • 1994 Tivoli Man
  • 1995 Malawi Law
  • 1996 King Of Talent
  • 1997 Young Darren
  • 1998
  • 1999 Tom’s Legacy
  • 2000 Puff Daddy
  • 2001 Carlisle Jack
  • 2002 Knockabout Wok
  • 2003 Puzzle Prize
  • 2004
  • 2005 Magic Trance
  • 2006 Witch Magic
  • 2007 Go Wild Jack
  • 2008 Vee Man Vane

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments