Silver Chief Final For The Ages – Young Guns To Clash On New Years Day

The 2012 greyhound season is set to start off with a bang as The Meadows host a star-studded 1 AJS Corporation final over 525 metres on New Year’s Day.

All the big guns progressed safely through to Sunday night’s $75,000-to-the-winner final, despite the shock defeat of , who finished second behind the underrated Godsend to qualify for the first Group final of his much-publicised career.

Two greyhounds who continued on from their amazing heat efforts were Cape Hawke and Queensland star Glen Gallon, both stopping the clock at 29.77 (Best of Night) in their respective semi-finals. Cape Hawke – a Ballarat and Adelaide Cup finalist – will start from box seven in the January 1 final, while Glen Gallon’s chances were dealt a blow after drawing away from his preferred rails draw in box eight.

Track record holder Heston Bale will start from box three, seemingly surrounded by early speed, while giant killer Godsend – who finished second in the at The Meadows in November – has drawn perfectly in box one.

Gates open at 6pm on New Year’s Day for the running of the Group 1 AJS Corporation Silver Chief, which will include heaps of free kids entertainment, mystery bets with great bonuses and bikes to be won. Dining packages are still available.

Check out Glen Gallon, Cape Hawke, Godsend and Hutmaker winning their semi finals in the videos below.

2012 Silver Chief Final Box Draw

    $75,000 to winner. Group 1. 525m. For Male greyhounds

  • Box 1 – Godsend – Jason Thompson – 30.02
  • Box 2 – Hutmaker – – 29.85
  • Box 3 – Heston Bale – Andrea Dailly – 29.45rec
  • Box 4 – McCosker Speed – – NBT
  • Box 5 – Whispering Wind – – 30.21
  • Box 6 – Soda Boy – Peter Giles – 30.10
  • Box 7 – Cape Hawke – – 29.73
  • Box 8 – Glen Gallon – Tony Brett – 29.69
  • No. 9 – Mepunga Geordie – – 30.39
  • No.10 – Flip Bale – Graeme Bate – 30.57

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news like this:

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments