West Australian Too Good In AWM Distance Championship

The classy Blue Lorian continued his outstanding form in a fabulous staying effort to take out the 2 over 725 metres last Saturday night at The Meadows.

The son of Surf Lorian and Winsome Bluebird made it seven wins on the trot – and two from two at The Meadows – defeating Reign Over Me by two and quarter lengths in 42.86.

Dour stayer Jarvis Bale was a further three quarters of a length away to finish third in his 23rd Group race appearance.

Owned and trained by Peter Whye, Blue Lorian is now a two-time Group winner, taking out the Group 3 Stayers Challenge at in February.

Blue Lorian’s success on Saturday improved his record to 21 wins from 41 starts and $132,915 in prizemoney.

Favourite Nellie Noodles ($2.20) failed to display her customary finishing burst, passing the post in seventh position, 11 and a quarter lengths away from the winner.

The action continues next Saturday night at The Meadows with the running of the Victorian State heats of the Championship.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Dohtmann ($54.00), 5th Mickie Keato ($25.90), 6th Satanic Cash ($3.90) 7th Nellie Noodles ($2.20fav) and Galactic Diamond ($27.50).

Blue Lorian is a Blue dog whelped December 2007 by Surf Lorian from Winsome Bluebird ( x Winsome Duchess). He raced and trained by Peter Whye at Narellan in New South Wales. He has now won 21 races and been placed on 15 occasions from his 42 starts. The AWM Distance Title first prize of $25,000 brings his overall prizemoney to $132,195.

Elevated to status in 2007 the AWM Distance Championship has had plenty of different names. First run in 1967 when won by Magic Zephyr the race was staged over the 800 yard at Olympic Park and was known as the Olympic Park Distance Championship.

In those early years the raced was won by some outstanding stayers including Hall of famers Zoom Top (1969) Lizrene (1972). It remained the Olympic Park Distance Champion ship until 1988 apart from 1978 when called the Victorian Distance Title and in 1986 it was called the Toyota Trophy and 1987 Toyota Cup.

In 1989 the race was called the Olympic Park Distance Title before becoming the Diamond Distance Title from 1990 to 1993 and the ANZ Distance Title 1994-95.

The race first became the AWM Distance Title in 1996 when the M.G.R.A. was racing at Sandown and the company has continued the race sponsorship through to the Meadows. Listed below are the previous winners.

AWM Distance Championship Honour Roll

  • 1967 Magic Zephyr
  • 1968 Carbon Lass
  • 1969
  • 1970 ’s Button
  • 1971 Paul’s Thunder
  • 1972
  • 1973 Thurmiss
  • 1974 Alveray
  • 1975 La Sierra
  • 1976 Chevron Lass
  • 1977 Oakwood Moss
  • 1978 Lindsay’s Pick
  • 1979 Mixed Blessings
  • 1980-1983 Not Run
  • 1984 Sheila’s Teresa
  • 1985 Suzanne Gwenda
  • 1986 Linton’s Ace
  • 1987 Golden Ambition
  • 1988 Strolling Benja
  • 1989
  • 1990 Malmar Magic
  • 1991 Witchery
  • 1992 Modern Express
  • 1993 Brijon Belle
  • 1994 Athjoy
  • 1995 Johnny Glenoban
  • 1996 Happy Reuben
  • 1997 Ringside Fire
  • 1999 Long Shadow
  • 2000 Jedi Lightsabre
  • 2001 Hotshow Vintage
  • 2002 Westend Prince
  • 2003 Arvo’s Junior
  • 2004
  • 2005
  • 2006 Mid City Mandy
  • 2007 Sky Hazzard
  • 2008 Sky Hazzrd
  • 2009
  • 2010 Blue Lorian

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments