Peter Mosman Classic betting

The Peter Mosman Classic is an age restricted group 1 event which is run at Wentworth Park.

The event is a three week series, comprised of heats, semi-finals and a final, run over the 520m trip, with the winning connections pocketing $75,000.

The 2016 final was run on June 25, one week later than originally scheduled after the heats were pushed back due to torrential rain in the Sydney area, with Buck Forty claiming the title for Jason Thompson.

Betting on the Group 1 Peter Mosman Classic

Being one of the premier races in the state, the Peter Mosman Classic always attracts the best chasers from NSW as well as interstate. With some stellar fields, there is plenty of betting interest on the series, with our recommended online bookmakers all offering fixed odds betting on the final as soon as the field and box draw is confirmed.

Many bookies also offer markets on the heats and semi-finals, allowing punters to shop around and find the best early odds about their chosen runner(s) throughout the series.

Some bookies, such as Bet365, also offer all-in markets for the winner of the final once the fields have been released for the heats. This market usually offers some great value, with big prices available if you think you can spot the potential winner early on in the series.

Peter Mosman Classic history

The Peter Mosman Classic is one of four Group 1 sprint events held annually at Wentworth Park (the others being the Golden Easter Egg, the Paws of Thunder and the Vic Peters Classic), with the winner of the event pocketing $75,000 in 2016.

The race is the second oldest event on the NSW racing calendar, with the age restricted series first conducted back in 1952 at Harold Park, at which time it was known as the ‘Bi-Annual Classic’.

The race was renamed the Peter Mosman Classic in 1988 in honour of the Greyhound Breeders Owners and Trainers Association (GBOTA) Chairman who had passed away the previous year. Mosman was one of the instrumental voices in the negotiations for the NSW GBOTA to commence racing at Wentworth Park, with the inaugural meeting held in September 1987, just two weeks after his death. Fittingly, the first time the race was named in his honour, was also the first time it was run and won at the Glebe circuit.

The race has been won by some of the finest sprinters the sport has seen, with names such as Brother Fox (1985), Elite State (2003), Surf Lorian (2004), Xylia Allen (2013) and Fernando Bale (2015) amongst the winners, many of the winners going on to become influential in the breeding barn following their careers on the track.

Recent years of the Group 1 Peter Mosman Classic

2016: Buck Forty secured back to back victories for Victoria when claiming the most recent running of the Classic, defeating kennel mate Invictus Rapid to score by half a length in 29.83. After a fair beginning from box two, the son of Buck Forty and Fancy Jaffa was able to stalk the leader in the early stages before finishing too powerfully in the run to the line.

2015: Champion sprinter Fernando Bale stamped himself as one of the best greyhounds to have ever graced the track with a stunning triumph in the 2015 Peter Mosman, defeating a high quality field including his superstar kennel mate Dyna Double One to score by two and a half lengths in a sizzling 29.27.

2014: Bessy Boo gave Christine and Alan Proctor their biggest win throughout their time in greyhound racing when producing a big finish to claim the race off box one. The son of Bekim Bale and My Black Bess recorded a fast 29.71 over the 520m trip and went on to become the greyhound with the most wins at Wentworth Park in the following years.

2013: One of the greatest sprinters turned stayers in recent memory, Xylia Allen stamped herself as a genuine star of the sport with a tenacious victory in the 2013 race. The black bitch scored by one and three quarter lengths over kennel mate Schroder Bale, with the classy field also including Johnny Fire, Iona Seven and Quiz Bale.

Group 1 Peter Mosman Classic – honour roll

1952 – Robin Buchanan
1953 – Miss Oakey
1954 – Farrago Hawk
1955 – Proto Girl
1956 – Double Jade
1957 – Fine Earl
1958 – Town Ghost
1959 – Tell You Why
1960 – Classic Jane
1961 – Silver Khan
1962 – Nimble Aye
1963 – Keen Linen
1964 – Sudden Linen
1965 – Satyr Rocket
1966 – Perfect Socks
1967 – Dark Durante
1968 – Rokoko
1969 – Silent Ring
1970 – The Smoother
1971 – Alray Lad
1972 – Toouli
1973 – Dusty Trail
1974 – Early Copy
1975 – Arctic Raider
1976 – Proper Calibre
1977 – Ripa’s Reward
1978 – Satan’s Legend
1979 – Tegemi
1980 – Dicks Gem
1981 – Merry Tempest
1982 – Promises Free
1983 – Acacia Park
1984 – Crathie Drive
1985 – Brother Fox
1986 – Yob Yobbo
1987 – Paris In Spring
1988 – Kinjarra
1989 – Style Leader
1990 – Classy Spider
1991 – Farmer Wilson
1992 – Hows The Fort
1993 – Worthy Reward
1994 – Tap Dance
1995 – Patchtime
1996 – Casino Jack
1997 – William Wallace
1998 – Solve The Puzzle
1999 – Great Wish
2000 – Token Wave
2001 – Winsome Dollars
2002 – Big Sam Banner
2003 – Elite State
2004 – Surf Lorian
2005 – Over Flo
2006 – Faithful Love
2007 – Run The Risk
2008 – Lend Us Fifty
2009 – Devine Road
2010 – Tuiaki
2011 – Allen Harper
2012 – Garrick Bale
2013 – Xylia Allen
2014 – Bessy Boo
2015 – Fernando Bale
2016 – Buck Forty

Got Feedback? Join the Discussion. Click Here to Join the Discussion