Bendigo Greyhound Racing Association

Bendigo Greyhound Racing Association

  • Track name: Bendigo
  • Address: Lords Raceway, McIvor Highway, Junortoun 3551
  • Phone number: (03) 5449 3322
  • Fax: (03) 5449 3348
  • Racing distances: 425m, 500m and 660m
  • Track records:
    • 400m – 23.386 – Fernando Bale – June 28, 2015
    • 500m – 27.518 – Midnight Ride – February 27, 2015
    • 660m – 37.361 – Shot To Bits – September 5, 2014
  • Trials:

    Pen trials are available after the race meetings on both Wednesdays and Fridays, with trials to be booked prior to race eight by phoning the office.

    Arm trials are held on Tuesdays and Saturdays and must be booked either online or by calling the office.

    • Tuesday – trials are held between 9am and 1pm, with online bookings to be made between 6pm Saturday and 12pm on the Monday prior. Phone bookings for Tuesday’s trials are accepted between 9am and 12pm on the Monday.
    • Saturday – trials are held between 8am and 12pm, with online bookings to be made between 6pm Wednesday and 12pm on the Friday prior. Phone bookings for Saturday’s trials are accepted between 9am and 12pm on the Friday.
  • Arm trials (maximum two dogs per trial) are $10 each.
  • Pen trials are priced at $5 per dog in a half field trial or $10 per solo (maximum two dogs – additional dogs charged at $5 per dog).

Bendigo – history

The Bendigo greyhound track is based at Junortoun in Victoria, about eight minutes outside of Bendigo itself and just under two hours from Melbourne.

The provincial track holds over 100 race meetings each year, with it’s flagship event being the Group 2 Bendigo Cup which is held over 425m.

The track is operated by the Bendigo Greyhound Racing Association (BGRA). Greyhound Racing commenced in the Bendigo area during the 1920s with field coursing held in the centre of the Bendigo racecourse at Epsom. Coursing continued at the racecourse until 1954.

Track racing first commenced in the area in 1936 at the football grounds at Canterbury Park, Eaglehawk, and was privately owned. In those times, racing was known as speed coursing and events were staged over 340 yards. Racing continued at Eaglehawk until 1978 after which the BGRA moved the Club to it’s present location at Lord’s Raceway in Junortoun. The new track comprised of a loam surface and racing was held over 430, 545 and 700m.

In July 2007, the BGRA completed the first stage of a complete venue overhaul when it opened a brand new kennel block and administration building.

2008 saw the BGRA celebrate it’s 30th anniversary at the Lord’s Raceway.

March 2012 saw the Club launch a new chapter in it’s decorated history when it unveiled a state of the art redevelopment with a price tag of $4.2 million.

The redevelopment included a new race track, racing over 425, 500 and 660m, and brand new facilities. The facilities included a function room, bistro, bar and TAB facilities all under the one roof, bringing the Bendigo track into the 21st century and allowing it to compete on a level playing field with all the other tracks in Victoria, if not Australia.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments