Dee Winter Snares Victory In The Traralgon Cup

Ray Henness looked like a man in shock after the running of the 2010 Lion Quality Product’s . His greyhound “Dee Winter” had just snared the Group 2 event in an exciting time of 29.80.

Ray was white as a ghost in the catching pen when he came to collect his dog. However it didn’t take him long to shake of the shock. He was all smiles as soon as the presentations started. Owner Cliff Davenport was also on track to celebrate their greyhounds win from box one.

Galba Jack ($5.50) ran a mighty race leading most of the way, taking out second place for John Maple and Tony Mills’ greyhound Bloss’s Benson($16.70) came third.

Tina Womann trained the Cup Consolation winner Greywinds Doll. Owned by Craig Provost, the doll used the pink box to perfection rounding up the early leader Cheeky Red.

Greywinds Doll won by 2.5 lengths in 29.91. Buddy Rose landed second and Cheeky Red held on for third.

travelled from Frankston with his greyhound Galactic Diamond to contest the Traralgon Distance Championship Best 8 over 658m.

He is the current track record holder for this trip registering 38.60 in January, so you would have assumed he would be favourite for the race.

Apparently not paying $10.90 on super tab winning in 39.01. The special event 298m Dave Hodgson Tribute was taken out by the current “Comatosed”. Trained by Paul Andrews from Rosedale.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Blazin’ Arch($17.60), 5th Made You Look ($18.50), 6th Cindeen Shelby ($1.90), 7th Prince Fuser ($6.40) and Okeechobee ($36.90).

Dee Winter is a Blue dog whelped December 2007 by from Flaming Nikita (Spiral Nikita x Flaming Awesome). He is raced by Cliff Davenport and trained by Ray Henness. He has now won five races and been placed on 10 occasions from his 18 starts. The Traralgon Cup first prize of $28,000 brings Dee Winter’s overall prizemoney to $36,075.

The Traralgon Cup was first known as the Latrobe Valley Cup from 1974 until 1980 when it changed its name, below is the Honour Roll of past winners.

Traralgon Cup Honour Roll

  • 1974 Lady Anthia
  • 1975 Jaymar’s Pride
  • 1976 Dunmain Scholar
  • 1977 Bolta’s Gift
  • 1978 Elsie Belinda
  • 1979 Newmore’s Heart
  • 1980 Weona Swinger
  • 1981 Select Band
  • 1982 Harry Shamrock
  • 1983 Drop Of Wine
  • 1984 Forever Alert
  • 1985 Rumpus Pappa
  • 1986 Lightning Boy
  • 1987 Star Affair
  • 1988 Ray Bon Miss
  • 1989 Devastate
  • 1990 Witchery
  • 1991 Malawi/s Prince
  • 1992 Tough As Tears and (Dead Heat)
  • 1993 Lash’s Choice
  • 1994 Light Of Fire
  • 1995 Wylie Boy
  • 1996 Flash Monarch
  • 1997 Shannen’s Storm
  • 1998
  • 1999 Four Amigos
  • 2000 Dutchy’s Angel
  • 2001 Floodfawn
  • 2002
  • 2003 Our Barney
  • 2004 Amaroo Gift
  • 2005 Zaar
  • 2006 Cromlah Bale
  • 2007
  • 2008 Keeko Bale (Track Record)
  • 2009
  • 2010 Dee Winter

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments