El Galo Makes It Two Country Cups

El Galo Wins The 2008 Warrnambool CupBrilliant sprinter and 2007 cup winner El Galo scored his second country cup success when he led all the way to defeat a star studded line up in the Group 2 Norlane Hotel last Wednesday night.

In a masterful display from box seven El Galo ($4.00) the black speedster begun brilliantly from the outside draw to lead clearly early, while his solid start set up the win his main opposition , Paddy's Flame, and were all slow out.

tacked on to the leader down the back after being checked soon after the start. El Galo chasing hard up on the bunny is very hard to beat and at no stage did he look in danger racing to the line to win in a fast 24.88 after splits of 6.42 and 12.47. ($7.60) rattled home at the end to finish second two and a quarter from the winner with Taipan Bale ($15.50) a similar margin back in third place.

El Galo time was just outside the race record of 24.81 set by Axe Handle in last year final he missed Big Smig's Wannon Park record for the 450 metres by just 0.01 seconds set in 2001 and that time was equalled in last week's heats by Queenslander Knocka Norris
”Knocka” started the $3 favourite for the final but after early interference finished fourth and was found to be injured in the left shoulder, a seven day stand down period was imposed.

As reported on here, stewards spoke to the trainer of Knocka Norris, Jason Thompson regarding the greyhound's performance on the first turn. After a heated discussion, stewards took no further action in the matter.

After the placings the field finished in the following order 4th Knocka Norris ($3.00 fav), 5th ($19.50), 6th Shanlyn Prince ($4.20) 7th Bounding Billy ($20.20) and Paddy's Flame ($10.80).
El Galo is a blue dog whelped November 2005 by Where's Pedro from Roxy Reason (Malawi's Prince x Playground) raced by Seona Hood and trained by Jason Thompson he has raced 28 times for 15 wins and nine placings, adding the Cup's first prize of $25,000 his overall stake earnings went to $113,150.

Listed below are the past winners of the Cup it is believed the Cup was conducted on the old Warrnambool track as far back as 1961 but records since 1972 show that many a top performer has won the feature event over the years.

1972 Tien Shan, 1973 Natural Power, 1974 Uba Lass, 1975 Sylvan Prince, 1976 Busy Penny, 1977 Tem Dasher, 1978 Roisheen's Son, 1979 Imaturner, 1980 Tempix, 1981 Kuda's Talent, 1982 So Blue, 1983 Lady Lilly, 1984 Super Mira, 1985 Kilmarney Lad, 1986 Larrikin Lewis, 1987 McWilliam Boy, 1988 High In Space, 1989 Gun Fury, 1990 Hard Rain, 1991 McGuane, 1992 Bomber Gleeson, 1993 Nova Express, 1994 Fitzroy Express, 1995 Midnight Flirt, 1996 Morrant, 1997 Another Currency, 1998 Macorna Lad, 1999 Honcho Classic, 2000 , 2001 Sweet Silkab, 2002 Kantarn Bale, 2003 Francesca Bale, 2004 Harvey Bale 2005 Sun Hero, 2006 Brilliant Lee and 2007 Axe Handle.

Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] in controversy.That year Thompson also had two runners engaged in the final and while his greyhound El Galo went on to win the race, it was the aftermath involving his other runner Knocka Norris that had all tongues wagging.This […]