Got A Moment Named Queensland Greyhound Of The Year

Queensland's greyhound industry tonight celebrated the 2012 racing season with the announcement of the Greyhound of the Year, Got A Moment at the Queensland Greyhound Industry Awards.

Got A Moment had a fantastic season, starting in 28 races to win 14 and place in seven, including taking out the prestigious Group 1 Melbourne Cup and the Group 1 Brisbane Cup.

Owner and trainer Dianna Buxton was present on the night to accept the award.

She beat other 2012 Greyhound of the Year nominees Don't Knocka Him, Glen Gallon and .

Each club awarded their 2012 Greyhound of the Year and a number of Brisbane premiership awards were also presented including Brisbane's leading owner, trainer, sire and brood bitch.

2012 Queensland Greyhound Of The Year Award Winners

• 2012 Greyhound of the Year – Got A Moment
• Brisbane – 2012 Greyhounds of the Year – Aladdin's Queen and Cakes And Pies
• Bundaberg – 2012 Greyhound of the Year – Passionate Eyes
• Cairns – 2012 Greyhound of the Year – Briajohn Gold
• Capalaba – 2012 Greyhound of the Year – Magic Five
• Ipswich – 2012 Greyhound of the Year – Charmed Speed
• Rockhampton – 2012 Greyhound of the Year – Faith And Hope
• Townsville – 2012 Greyhounds of the Year – Top Knock and Curly Mac
• Brisbane Leading Owner Award – Hazelgrove Partnership
• Brisbane Leading Trainer Award –
• Brisbane Trainers Strike Rate Award – Kevin Bryant
• Brisbane Sire of the Year – Collision
• Brisbane Brood Bitch of the Year –
• Women in Racing Award – Sandra Hunt
• Personality Award – “Lemonade” Tom Feehan
• Young Achiever of the Year – Mitchell Cox
• Top Simbi Award – Dianna Buxton

Racing Queensland Hall Of Fame Inductees

Four worthy industry contributors were inducted into the Racing Queensland Hall of Fame, Credibility, Kirsty's First, Albert “Bunny” Hewton and Bevan and Elaine Williamson.

Credibility was a wonder on the track, winning 21 races and placing in nine from 40 starts. He won the Winfield Challenge, the Toowoomba Cup after running a track record 25.66 in his heat, the Lawnton Cup, the Gold Coast Derby, was runner-up in the at beaten narrowly, and won heats of the Derby and Tweed Galaxy.

He went on to become one of the greatest sires in Australia, with his progeny including legend race dogs Faithful Hawk, Questions, Just The Best, Nobody's Fool, Bearability, Reliability, Yo Yo's Boy, History Lesson and Fine Devil.

His son Just The Best has already been installed into the Hall of Fame having sired such greats as , Surf Lorian and Big Daddy Cool.

Kirsty's First
Kirsty's First was the first ever Queenslander to win the title and she did it in monumental fashion. The daughter of champions Ungwilla Lad and Katies Disco was raced by the late Jim Grundon and trained by Gary Cameron on the Darling Downs in the 1980's.

Kirsty's First was one of the greatest stayers of her time, winning 19 from 22 races, with 10 from her first 13 at the Gabba. Furthermore, she obliterated the Gabba 704m track record running 41.19, a time unheard of in those days.

She was also successful at stud, and is best known as the granddam of the champion galloper Worthy Reward.

Albert “Bunny” Hewton
Albert “Bunny” Hewton has almost done everything there is to do in the greyhound racing industry and was rightfully inducted in the Australian Greyhound Racing Hall of Fame in 2012.

He has served on several committees over a period of 45 years including the Gabba, Brisbane, Beenleigh, Capalaba and Loganholme. He also served as an industry representative on the greyhound control board for three years from 1974. Mr Hewton is a life member of both the Brisbane and Capalaba Greyhound Racing Clubs.

Mr Hewton saw his service on all of the committees as an honour and did so because of a “Love for the Game” and to give back to the industry that gave him so much. He was a pioneer in Queensland greyhound racing introducing such initiatives as the sliding catching pen at Capalaba and the installation of starting boxes at the Loganholme track.

Bevan and Elaine Williamson
Bevan and Elaine Williamson have been a part of the greyhound industry for over 40 years. They have played a large part in the breaking in and educating of young pups prior to their racing career commencing. They have also had a great career in the training of greyhounds, with Elaine taking the major role in the training and preparation of countless winners. Bevan will be always regarded as one of the greats in the art of greyhound track preparation and maintenance, as well as being known as one of the best drivers in the business. Bevan has been throughout the state maintaining greyhound racetracks and has even travelled to Korea and Vietnam working on projects.

Greyhounds who has passed through the Williamson's ranks include Yo Yo Flyer, Watusi Rose, Famous Leader, Texas President, Elle Mac Honcho, Sam Mac Honcho, Cantori and Lucy's Light. Over the years they have broken in many great greyhounds including Flying Amy, Just The Best and Texas Gold.

Bevan, who won the 2005 Personality Award, and Elaine Williamson, are deserved inductees into the Queensland Hall of Fame, as are Credibility, Kirsty's First and Albert “Bunny” Hewton.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments