Harrison-Dawson A Race For The Ages

Sandown Park is set to play host to one of the most keenly contested Group finals in recent history following the heats of the Berwick Mazda Harrison Dawson tonight.

Less than two lengths separate seven of the eight finalists, with the field combing to win 124 races and almost $800,000 in prize money.

Jamie Ennis’s former track record holder Cape Hawke set the time standard in taking out the night’s opening heat in 29.32 seconds.

Making his fourth start back from an injury enforced lay off, Cape Hawke began like a shot from box three to establish a four length lead entering the back straight. General Destini took full advantage of box one to hold his position through the first turn and set off in pursuit of Cape Hawke.

The sons of Where’s Pedro cleared from the field, and despite General Destini’s best efforts, Cape Hawke did enough to hang to win by a length. Both greyhounds will again jump from 1 and 3 respectively in the final.

proved too strong for Smoke Home, winning the second heat by 4.5 lengths in 29.33 seconds. Already a veteran of several feature race finals, the trained chaser’s 15th win took his career earnings beyond $100,000, but will need to be at his best in next week’s final after coming up with box 6.

Wy Yung Tiger’s gave his legion of supporters a reason to get excited when he defeated winner Don’t Knocka Him by three quarters of a length in 29.38 seconds.

Owned by members of the Wy Yung Football Club, the son of made no mistake from box three to lead all the way, and trainer Mick Fearnley was delighted when his star chaser drew box 8 for the final.

The upset of the night came in the final heat when Lektra Johnson upstaged his more fancied rivals to defeat Premier Boloney by three quarters of a length in 29.42 seconds.

The final of the Group 2 Berwick Mazda will be run at Sandown Park on Thursday 17 May. The $105,000 final will form part of an outstanding night of greyhound racing, which also features the final of the $105,000 Group 1 Sapphire Crown.

The heats of the Group 1 RSN Sandown Cup – Australia’s richest race for stayers – will also be run on the night with WA super star Miata the highlight.

There will be a $250,000 guaranteed SuperTAB quaddie pool on the meeting, and patrons oncourse will have the chance to win a $2500 travel voucher.

$105,000 Group 2 Berwick Mazda Harrison-Dawson Crown Final (515m)

1 General Destini Norm Rinaldi 29.39
2 Lektra Johnson Andrea Dailly 29.36
3 Cape Hawke Jamie Ennis 29.32
4 Premier Boloney 29.42
5 Smoke Home Lauren Gorman 29.61
6 David Bale Graeme Bate 29.33
7 Don’t Knocka Him 29.43
8 Wy Yung Tiger Mick Fearnley 29.38
9 Gordon Bale Graeme Bate 1st Res
10 Adam Meway 2nd Res

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments