This Week In Racing History



Yannick (box one) won the 1998 Tweed Heads by six lengths, running 23.32 to set a new track record for the 420 metres at Border Park. Hiraani Blade, who would later be barred from racing at Wentworth Park after jumping the fence and trying to head off the lure in the back straight by galloping across the infield, finished second with Icy Prophet third and Maggiore fourth.

Tap Dance downed Gallant Ruler by two and a half lengths to win the 1994 Memorial over 520 metres at Wentworth Park, running a race record 30.38 from box one.

Victorian stayer Totally Ablaze won the 1998 Albion Park Gold Cup (710 metres) by a neck from Queenslander Nujooloo with Tonight’s Wish third. Totally Ablaze, trained by Roger Nodzio, ran the trip in a fast 41.96, just 8/100ths outside the race record.

Coulta Colleen set a new track record time of 30.33 when winning over 525 metres at Broken Hill in 2001.


Mustard Moss took out the 1971 Journalist’s Cup (Best 8) over 790 yards (722 metres) at Wentworth Park in a fast 43.2. The Bill Fletcher-trained stayer downed 1970 Greyhound of the Year Tara Flash by two and a half lengths with Fawn Mink third.

Worthy Reward won the first Peter Mosman Memorial final to be held on the new loam surface at Wentworth Park, in 1993. Worthy Reward defeated Rich Roulette and Pedictability in a slow 30.76 for the 520 metres.

Great Wish won the 1999 Peter Mosman Memorial by a whopping 10 lengths, running a fast 30.08 for the 520 metres, just 4/100ths outside the race record.


Farrago became the first greyhound to be earbranded in NSW, in 1951. He was given the number AB001. The plan was to try and prevent ‘ring-ins’ and would gradually be done to about 10,000 racing greyhounds in the state. The claims Runaway Joe had been the first to be earbanded, on 2 May that year, by the , at Penrith. Runaway Joe, infamous for allegedly being a ring-in at in 1949, might well have been a test case and then Farrago, being a champion and very prominent, was used as the first ‘official’ earbrander.

Classy Victorian sprinter blitzed a top-notch field to win the 1998 Peter Mosman Memorial at Wentworth Park. He downed fellow Victorian Adrenalin Storm by almost 10 lengths in 30.04, clipping a substantial 34/100ths off the previous race record. Lucy Lawless was third ahead of Fraud, Spoken Joe (later to set a track record at Wentworth Park) and Fibba.


Irish import Smooth Approach gave trainer Shirley Watkin her biggest success when annexing the 1975 Winter Stake by a length from Lord Beresford over 457 metres at Harold Park. Oberon Lad was 10 lengths further adrift in third place. Smooth Approach ran 26.49 to set a new race record.

Hotshow Vintage, from Victoria, won the 2001 Albion Park Gold Cup by a nose from Worldlee Man with NSW stayer Bronze Token a length and a half away third and fellow NSW stayer Pearl Larricki fourth. Hotshow Vintage collected $40,000 for trainer .


Royal Kojak downed Star Wine by a head to win the 1987 Olympic Park Hurdle Championship, run over 511 metres. Revel’s Command was third with Weinberg fourth. The race was marred by three finalists falling.


Pied Rebel set a new track record of 23.8 for 440 yards (402 metres) at Tweed Heads in 1969 at only his third race start.

Garrick Bale won the 2012 Peter Mosman Memorial by seven lengths for trainer Andrea Dailly and earned $75,000, a 50 percent prize money hike from the previous year.


The John Young-trained Petite Panther won the 1970 Which Chariot Gold Cup final over 675 yards (617 metres) at by two lengths in 36.5.

Woolley Wilson held on to defeat Midnight Enemy by a head in the final of the 1972 Winter Stake (500 yards; 457 metres) at Harold Park. Woolley Wilson collected $2,500 first prize for trainer .

0 0 votes
Article Rating

More greyhound news

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments