Octane Show Too Good In Hobart Thousand Final

Top Victorian trainer has been trying for over a decade to win a Wrest Point Thousand and at Tattersall's Park on Thursday night Octane Show ($3.80) broke the hoodoo.

McDonald was represented in the final by Octane Show and Perfect Fancy and both figured in the finish with Perfect Fancy snaring third spot.

“Winning this race means a hell of a lot to me because I've been here many times and with some real smart dogs but the prize has eluded me,” McDonald said.

The astute trainer has had some class acts represent him in the Thousand final including his best dog Brett Lee that had to play bridesmaid to Top Shiraz in 2000 when the race was held at the old Royal Showground circuit.

Octane Show began brilliantly from box six and after a stoush with kennel mate Perfect Fancy (2) and Numero Uno Bale (1) the powerful son of drove to the front and broke clear. Damek struck interference when squeezed up nearing the 340-metre boxes, spat out the back and never recovered.

Octane Show went on to score by over two lengths from Numero Uno Bale ($8.70) with Perfect Fancy ($7.10) third with the winner clocking 25.83 over the 461-metre trip.

Dee Winter (7) made a charge but he wasn't up to the task and only battled on to finish fourth. Octane Assassin was the first of the three Tasmanian dogs home, finishing hard along the rails after settling last early.

“A lot of time and effort goes into the planning of these races and for whatever reason things just haven't worked out for us in the past but this time we did a few things different and it paid off.” McDonald said post-race.
“In the past we've taken the dogs home after the heats and brought them back but we've had problems with plane delays and other things have gone wrong but leaving the dogs here has been much better so we've learned something there.”

“It's just wonderful to finally win it and with a dog that was a very deserving winner.”

“Octane Show is probably entering the twilight of his career but he's in terrific form and he had to be to win this race because it was probably the hottest Hobart Thousand field I've seen since I've been coming here,” he said.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Dee Winter ($5.20), 5th Octane Assassin ($27.00), 6th ($19.00) 7th Decembrist ($18.00) and Damek ($3.10 Fav).

Octane Show is a Red Fawn Dog whelped July '07 he is raced by Tyrone Whittington & and trained by Darren McDonald he is by Pure Octane from Black Chantilly (Brett Lee x Floodfawn). The 1 Hobart 1000 win took his record to 67 starts for 30 wins and 16 placings and prizemoney earnings of $224,725.

The Hobart 1000 is the oldest feature race final in Australia it was first run as the Hobart Cup at the old TCA circuit in 1935. The race first became known as the Hobart 1000 in 1939, it reverted back to the Hobart Cup for two years in 1942 then was not held during the war years of 1944-45 and when the race recommended in 1946 it was again known as the Hobart 1000.

The most notable effort in the history of the Hobart Thousand must be the training feat of Hilda Williamson of Beaconsfield. She won back-to-back Thousands in 1961/62 with her grand bitch Ophir Doll, and just for good measure made it a hat trick with Ophir Gold in 1963. Another notable feat was that of Beaut Dina. She won the event run in 1976 and was the dam of Scene Control, which won the last ever Hobart Thousand run at the T.C.A. in 1980. Both were owned and trained by Ted and Laurie Rigby of Evandale.

Arguments will always rage over the greatest dogs to win the Thousand. The best interstate chasers to gain victory would have to be Rookie Rebel (1958), Benjamin John (1969), (which ran down the immortal Zoom Top), Black Aztec (1981), and the freak Brother Fox (1985). Amongst the very best of the locals to salute would have to be Ophir Doll (1961/62), along with Royal Griffin (1978), True Vintage (1988), Bomber's a Flyer (1996), Top Shiraz (2000) (who held off the speedster Brett Lee) and Black Caleb (2002) who defeated winner Classic Capri. Race record over the 457m trip – 2005 winner Ralph The Mouth 25.60.

below are the names of many champions that have tasted victory in the time honored event. It is certainly an impressive list of past winners.
1935 Elwick Boy, 1936 Miafort, 1937 Loch Maree, 1938 On Par, 1939 Mr Whackles, 1940 Silver Rover, 1941 Cavalry, 1942 My Kenya, 1943 Askalon, 1944 “Not Held” , 1945 “Not Held”, 1946 Ebon's Own, 1947 Young Sign, 1948 Hero Minda, 1949 Erin's Ace, 1950 Neat Brandy, 1951 Pleasant Foam, 1952 Baron Dhu, 1953 The Mudlark, 1954 Pasha Chief, 1955 Minda Go, 1956 Baron Woomera, 1957 Rising Ace, 1958 Rookie Rebel, 1959 Peter's Treasure, 1960 Bow Rock,1961 Ophir Doll, 1962 Ophir Doll, 1963 Ophir Gold, 1964 Sandy Stone, 1965 Fairbairn Lady, 1966 Ipswich Low, 1967 Fiery Bob, 1968 Sue Narila, 1969 Benjamin John, 1970 Plunder Road, 1971Trion Scout, 1972 Beau Palomino, 1973 Sue's A Credit, 1974 Jamin John, 1975 Snowsim, 1976 Beaut Dina, 1977 Check Vista, 1978 Royal Griffin, 1979 Astradome Lad, 1980 Scene Control, 1981 Black Aztec, 1982 Kudaleen, 1983 Stony Point, 1984 Double Time, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Solitary Simon, 1987 White Gigolo, 1988 True Vintage, 1989 Scott James, 1990 Bacchant, 1990 Shantytown, 1991 Jenny's Legacy, 1992 Bomber Gleeson, 1993 Extra's Boy, 1994 Storm Hero,1995 Clint's Pirate, 1996 Bomber's A Flyer, 1997 Shantung Tiger, 1998 Mirren Bale, 1999 Latest Lad, 2000 Top Shiraz, 2001 Black Caleb, 2002 Star Witch, 2003 Nobody Knew, 2004 , 2005 Ralph The Mouth, 2006 Superman , 2007 . and 2008 Little Spaniard

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments