Remo Rubik Upsets El Galo In Wangaratta Cup

Keysborough mentor has emerged from greyhound racing's “school of hard knocks” with flying colours – but it's been a lengthy learning curve!

Mitchell, 54, received an initiation in the sport hanging around with – a close mate in their days as students at Moorabbin West Primary and later Sandringham Tech.

He enrolled as a trainer in the late 1960s and it took him a few years travelling around the bush circuits before he passed his first-winner test – at Albury.

Around four decades later, and having acquired much greyhound racing wisdom, Mitchell prepares top of-the-class speedster Remo Rubik, who solved his race puzzle in last night's Wangaratta Cup.

“He's been knocking on the door… He just tries all the time,” Mitchell said.

“He's the best I've trained… They don't come around very often.”

Last month, Remo Rubik broke the track record in a heat of the Group 2 before finishing sixth in the final.

And he recorded the fastest of six Wangaratta Cup heats on the Queen's Birthday prior to claiming a $26,000 first prize in the Group 2 final.

Mitchell also said it was an “unbelievable feeling” edging out champion by a head, who has amassed more than $500,000 in stakes. (El Galo finished third in last year's Wangaratta Cup.)

“El Galo is the best in Australia, so to run him down was a phenomenal effort.”

Remo Rubik ($4.40) defeated El Galo ($3.30) by a head, with Hesa Felon ($7.10) three and a half lengths away third in 26.76sec.

Then followed: Topline Doovee ($3.20F), ($9.60), Premier Moment ($29.60), Golden Promise ($39.30) and Gioves Thunder ($31.80).

Mitchell said Remo Rubik's next major assignment would be the series.

Remo Rubik is a Black dog whelped December 2006 by Solve The Puzzle from Remo Agogo (Timjim Bale x Remo Blitz). He raced by the Kerrigan Syndicate and trained by Geoff Mitchell at Keysborough in Victoria. He has now won 13 races and been placed on nine occasions from his 31 starts.

The Wangaratta Cup first prize of $26,000 brings Paddy's Flame's overall prizemoney to $64,870.

The Wangaratta Cup was first conducted in 1963 but the winner is unknown, the club in those days raced at Sentential Park on the Melbourne to Sydney Highway. The track and complex was situated at the rear of the Vine Hotel.

The first recorded winner was Harem Belle in 1965 and the distance was 420 yards the mighty Haydale won the race in 1967. The distance altered to 575 yards in 1971 which became 525 metres.

The Cup moved with the club to its present site at Avian Park in 1974 and the race distance was conducted over the 400 metre trip. The track had a major upgrade and the circuit redesigned in 2002 when the sprint distance became 474 metres and the race was taken out by star sprinter Carlisle Jack.

Listed below is the full honour roll of the past winners it certainly contains some house hold names from past era's.

Wangaratta Cup Honour Roll

  • 1965 Harem Belle
  • 1966 Zonagen
  • 1967 Haydale
  • 1968 Unknown
  • 1969 Unknown
  • 1970 Unknown
  • 1971 Plutonic
  • 1972 Vicki Viking
  • 1973 Jovial Lass
  • 1974 Sylvan Prince
  • 1975 Grand Berry
  • 1976 Craig's Bid
  • 1977 Anhid Jewel
  • 1978 Nelson's Mate
  • 1979 Fearless Tiny
  • 1980 Rambler
  • 1981 Louise's Doll
  • 1982 ” Not Held”
  • 1983 Monnaie
  • 1984 Willie's Luck
  • 1985 Rare Girl
  • 1986 Thorgil Magic
  • 1987 Genoa Bale
  • 1988 Mr Chatters
  • 1989 Best Of Blue
  • 1990 Eureka Man
  • 1991 Terrorist
  • 1992 Endless Spirit
  • 1993 Ultimate Boy
  • 1994 Digger's Hope
  • 1995 Witching Time
  • 1996 Obese Godfrey
  • 1997 Open Country
  • 1998 Bonza Jack
  • 1999 Star Of Mine
  • 2000 Ben's Jet
  • 2001 “Not Held”
  • 2002 Carlisle Jack
  • 2003
  • 2004 Arvo's Blitz
  • 2005
  • 2006 See You Later
  • 2007 Proven Wizard
  • 2008 Paddy's Flame
  • 2009 Remo Rubik
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments