Sister City Cup Now A Four Way Challenge

The has been run between Adelaide () and since 2000. In 2009, Australasia’s only international event will be extended to become the Sister Cities Cup.

An agreement has been reached between GRSA, Christchurch GRC, Brisbane GRC and Auckland GRC, that will see the event become an annual four way series. Each Club will have two representatives in the Final each year.

Adelaide and Christchurch are Sister Cities as are Auckland and Brisbane. It is hoped to generate not only a cross Tasman rivalry, but also a Sister City challenge. The Adelaide/Christchurch experience has seen many trainers have an opportunity to travel and see how the other side go about things.

In 2009 the Final will be run by the Auckland Greyhound Racing Club, with the race to be run on Sunday 27th September over 527m. Prizemoney for this year’s Grand Final will be $NZ40,000.

will conduct its Heats (up to two) on Thursday 10th September. If two heats are run, then the two winners will represent SA or if just one heat is run, then the first two placegetters will travel.

Brisbane will also run its heats at Thursday 10th September. While the Christchurch Heats will be on Tuesday 15th September and the Auckland Heats on Sunday 13th September.

The rotation of venues will be:
2009 – Auckland
2010 – Brisbane
2011 – Christchurch
2012 – Adelaide

Each Club will pay an equal share towards the prizemoney component each year to assist the budgeting for the event.

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments