Size Does Matter

Boxes win races, just ask trainer Reg Kay. Kay's star sprinter Size Can Matter (Elite State-) utilized his rails box draw to perfection to lead throughout to win Thursday night's Group 2 at Albion Park.

He scored by two and three-quarter lengths over a gallant Bogie Ace ($3.10) with three and a half lengths to Eye Murunna ($5.00) in third.

Size Can Matter ($2.20) led through a first section of 5.73 and Kay was always confident he would. “I expected him to lead,” said Kay. “We've done a bit of work with him during the week and I pointed out that he had twice crashed to the front of the boxes in his heat last week.”

“It cost him the heat last week.”

For Size Can Matter it was third time lucky.

He had been placed in the Group 1 and Group 2 WA Derby prior to his Qld Derby bid.

“With all due respect to the other finalists, he was much more experienced than most of them,” said Kay.

Size Can Matter had already won the Group 1 earlier in the year.

He took his record to 11 wins and 10 placings in a career of 24 starts.

The winner ran 29.99 to win the Derby.

Size Can Matter backs up at Wentworth Park on Monday night in the heats of the Bob Payne Winter Stake.

He will then come home to take on the Group 1 Winter Carnival Cup series at Albion Park. Kay was high in praise for the Julie Edmondson bred and owned Size Can Matter.

“He is a really professional race dog,” said Kay.

“He's a lovely animal who is more outgoing at home than the likes of Elite Oriental and .”

The victory was the first Derby for Kay as a trainer.

Bogie Ace was gallant in defeat. He began brilliantly and loomed up on the outside of Size Can Matter at the winning post the first time.

But the inside advantage was always going to be in Size Can Matter's . He kicked clear into the back straight through a fast 11.58 middle section.

Trainer was full of praise for the winner but just as happy with his dog's second.
“Boxes win races,” said Brett.

Owner Les Bein has had an unhappy week. Bogie Force, a litter brother to Bogie Ace (Black Enforcer-), had to be put down in Victoria during the week.

He had broken in with a “potential champion” wrap on him.

WA's star sprinter Eye Murunna was an outstanding performance coming from well back in the field to get third but six lengths from the winner.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Elusive Quest ($12.00), 5th Fever Jack ($8.00), 6th Stone Cold Sober ($17.00), 7th Lethal Mariska ($15.00) and Iron Steed ($9.00).

Size Can Matter is a White & Fawn dog whelped April 2006 he is raced and was bred by Julie Edmondson and he is trained by Reg Kay at Lowwood in Queensland.

Size Can Matter is by Kay's super sprinter Elite State from Queen Size (Deep North x Ultra Queen) he has raced 24 times for 11 wins and 10 placings with the Derby first prize of $25,000, it took his overall stake earnings to $193,185.

The was first run at the Gabba in 1972 and it is one the state's time honoured events. The feature event was sponsored by Ardath in 83, 84 & 85 and by the ANZ Bank 86, 87 & 88.

The race is currently sponsored by Brandon Electrics and has been since 1999, Brandon Electrics is Queensland's largest electrical contractor and is operated by greyhound racing icon Paul Felgate. The popular owner-trainer-breeder has supported the industry in numerous ways over a 30 year period and the name Brandon is synonymous with the sport in Queensland.

The Derby has been won by some notable sprinters over the years with the best being Iron Hawk (78), Tangleshell (83), Your Attention (91), Jurassic Vapour (94), Dallas Man (95), Fear No Judge (96), Melbourne Cup winner Roanokee (97), Top GunNational Sprint Champion Placard (2000), Winter Cup winner Awesome Machine (02), Top Gun Winner Black Enforcer in 2005 and star Victorian Superman in 2007.

    below is the full honour roll of past winners.
    1972 Dixie's First, 1973 Dan Meadow, 1974 Ben Hamilton, 1975 High Climax, 1976 Irish Outlaw, 1977 Rebel Attack, 1978 Iron Hawk, 1979 Smart Mission, 1980 Morayfield, 1981 Hatari Chief, 1982 Duration, 1983 Tangleshell, 1984 Magic Gull, 1985 Kismet Range, 1986 Raging Rajah, 1987 Track Trump, 1988 Markaboy, 1989 Nifty Business, 1990 Mr Alert, 1991 Your Attention, 1992 Tears Finito, 1993 Dagenham, 1994 Jurassic Vapour, 1995 Dallas Man, 1996 Fear No Judge, 1997 Roanokee, 1998 Mighty McClurg, 1999 Fiery Asset, 2000 Placard, 2001 Sorcerer, 2002 Awesome Machine, 2003 Road Closed, 2004 Art Mann, 2005 Black Enforcer, 2006 Superman and 2007 Big Swell.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments