Velocette And Graeme Bate Give El Galo A Start And A Beating

A massive crowd packed in to witness the highly anticipated 2009 MTD Australian Cup at The Meadows last night and they were not disappointed.

The tension was high as the record books were set to be rewritten with El Galo ($1.70) searching to break 's Australian stake money record of $530,995 by taking tonight's $150,000 winners .

But last night's 1 Australian Cup was to a replay of the 2008 version when the Rob Britton trained Tasman Queen ran down the tiring El Galo to secure victory.

In the 2009 running of the Australian Cup, El Galo was able to lead as many believed he would, recording a first section of 5.09 and extended his lead down the back straight to be out by close to 3 lengths.

But the one dog many believed good enough to spoil the party for the connections of El Galo, was stalking the front runner, Velocette ($8.20).

In his seventh group race final, the Graeme Bate trained speedster began as well as he ever has to find himself second through the first turn and a few lengths in arrears of El Galo's 17.69 second section.

But the writing was on the wall on the home corner as Velocette was easily gaining ground on El Galo as he tired. With 50 metres to go, Velocette whipped past El Galo and ran away to win by 2.5 lengths in 29.77.

The youngest dog in the race Premier Moment ($40.80) was gallant in defeat charging home to grab third from Arvo's Falcon ($34.60) and Big Moose ($5.80). Behind them was Victory Time ($22.60), Rowdy ($28.90) and Proven Polly ($16.20) was last.

Velocette is a Black Dog by Bombastic Shiraz out of Texan Lady (Fortress ~ Midnight Flirt) and was whelped in August 2006. Owned by Ron McCullagh and trained by Garaeme Bate, Velocette has had 40 starts for 16 wins and 10 placings and last night's $150,000 first prizemoney takes his career prizemoney to $221,205.

Velocette's victory last night was his first in a group race after making 7 group race finals including the 2008 , with his best finish being a 6.75 length second to in the 2008 Group 2 Traralgon Cup.

The win was his Graeme Bates' second Australian Cup, having won with Blackjack Tom who dead-heated with Most Awesome in 2003.

“I'm not taking anything away from El Galo as he's a real champion, but I just know how strong Velocette is over the concluding stages of a race,” Bate said.

A humble Graeme Bate also paid tribute to loyal owner Ron McCullagh and his wife Judy who he said had experienced the greyhound racing rollercoaster.

Last night's great night of racing and entertainment capped off a tremendous Australian Cup Carnival in which over $650,000 in prizemoney and 5 group races were decided in a true celebration of greyhound racing.

Listed below is the classic honour roll of the past winners that have won the time honoured Australian Cup race.

    The Australian Cup Honour Roll
  • 1958 Rookie Rebel
  • 1959 Rocky Ros
  • 1960 Meadow Vale
  • 1961 Copeland
  • 1962 Take A Bow
  • 1963 Not Held
  • 1964 Old Tops
  • 1965 Worthing
  • 1966 Billy Vee
  • 1967 Fawn Nulla
  • 1968 Swanston Lass
  • 1969 Benjamin John
  • 1970 The Smoother
  • 1971
  • 1972 Blackamoor Lad
  • 1973 Half Your Luck
  • 1974 Kim's Monaro
  • 1975 Ungwilla Lad
  • 1976 Odious
  • 1977 Listowel Sue
  • 1978 Count D'Argent
  • 1979 Boundless
  • 1980 Tangaloa
  • 1981 Pete's Advice
  • 1982 Royal Rumpus
  • 1983 Drop Of Wine
  • 1984 Tangairn
  • 1985 Eaglehawk Star
  • 1986 Bright Judge
  • 1987 Regal Post
  • 1988 Golden Blessing
  • 1989 Ginger
  • 1990 Spread Eagled
  • 1991 Franklin Deano
  • 1992 Trip
  • 1993 China Trip
  • 1994 Mancunian Girl
  • 1995 Bonjase
  • 1996 Tenthill Doll
  • 1997 Smooth Rumble
  • 1998 Fibba
  • 1999 Mandatario
  • 2000 Arvo's Express
  • 2001
  • 2002 Isa Brown
  • 2003 Most Awesome / Blackjack Tom D/H
  • 2004 Bogie Leigh
  • 2005
  • 2006 Miss Spicy
  • 2007 Pete's Conquest
  • 2008 Tasman Queen
  • 2009 Velocette
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Group 1 Temlee win at the The Meadows, followed by a Group 1 Australian Cup Semi Final win and his second to Velocette in the Final, both again at The Meadows. Fedex too scored all his points from just three runs in February, […]


[…] Greyhound of the Month for February 2009 left it to the very last day of the month, but with his 2009 Group 1 Australian Cup win, Victorian sprinter Velocette has claimed the monthly […]