Queensland Derby betting

The Queensland Derby is a group 2 greyhound race run over the 520m trip at Albion Park, the only metropolitan track in the Sunshine State positioned just outside of Brisbane.

The race is open to the best male greyhounds which are nominated and under 30 months of age at the time.

The Queensland Derby has been won by some of the best sprinters the sport has seen, with many going on to have highly successful careers after winning the feature, some even going on to become leading sires.

Betting on the Group 2 Queensland Derby

Many punters invest their hard earned coin on the Queensland Derby each and every year, with the feature always attracting plenty of quality.

With a number of great greyhounds in the series each year, there is value to be found within the betting markets for the feature.

Many of our recommended online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting on the heats in the days leading up to the series commencing, with markets normally released once the box draw has been finalised.

Bookmakers such as Bet365 also offer all in markets on the winner of the final prior to the heats which is where the main value can be found if you think you can spot the victor before the opening round of the series, however if you prefer to wait until after the qualifiers you will have plenty of time to pick the winner prior to the final, with fixed odds markets usually opened around five days prior to the decider.

There are no odds currently available for the 2017 QLD Derby, however we will continue to update this page in the lead up to the feature.

#1 Deposit $400, bet with $1000
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $400, bet with $1000
#2 100% up to $501
  • Paypal deposit
  • POLi deposit
  • BPAY deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $501
#3 100% up to $200
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • Credit Card deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
100% up to $200
#4 Deposit $50, get $150
  • Visa deposit
  • MasterCard deposit
  • Paypal deposit
Bet Now Read Review Not available to residents of United States
Deposit $50, get $150
#5 100% up to $502
  • Visa deposit
  • Mastercard deposit
  • POLi deposit
Bet Now Read Review Available to residents of United States
100% up to $502

History of the Group 2 Queensland Derby

The Queensland Derby was run for the first time in 1972, at which point greyhound racing was still being run at the Gabba, with the inaugural running taken out out by Dixie’s First.

The last race meeting took place at the Gabba on February 4, 1993, after which racing moved to the current Albion Park circuit, with the race taken out in that year by former top Queensland chaser Dagenham.

The feature was sponsored by Ardath between the years 1983 and 1985 and by the ANZ Bank in 1986, 1987 and 1988. The race is currently sponsored by Brandon Electrics, Queensland’s largest electoral contractor, which is operated by Paul Felgate, an icon of the greyhound racing industry. Brandon Electrics have now been sponsoring the race since 1999.

Other notable sprinters to have won the Derby since its inception include Melbourne Cup winner Roanokee in 1997, Topgun and National Sprint Championship victor Placard in 2000, Winter Cup champ Awesome Machine in 2002, Topgun winner Black Enforcer in 2005, brilliant Queensland speedster Size Can Matter in 2008, former all-time highest prize money earner High Earner in 2009 and Group 1 Winter Cup winner Flash Reality in 2014.

Recent years of the Group 2 Queensland Derby

2016: France Soir scored a stunning win in the 2016 edition of the QLD Derby, stalking the leading division throughout the majority of the race before railing along the fence in the home straight to assume the lead and score. The son of Magic Sprite and Magic Capers defeated Victorian greyhound My Silver Chisel by three quarters of a length in 30.08.

2015: Dyna Villa made an appearance in Queensland for a tilt at the 20015 Derby and left having won the final in devastating fashion. The son of Collision and Roxio Bale, already a winner of the Melbourne Cup and the Paws of Thunder, defeated No Donuts by three and a half lengths on the line in a sizzling 29.70.

2014: Champion sprinter Keybow loomed as the one to beat in the 2014 QLD Derby, with the dual group 1 upstaged on the final night by Flash Reality. The victory gave leading Queensland conditioner Tony Brett his second Derby triumph, having also won the 2005 edition of the race with Black Enforcer. The son of Premier Fantasy and Orara Flash later went on to win the Group 1 Winter Cup, defeating a star studded field including Buckle Up Wes and Awesome Project.

2013: Trained by Kel Greenough, Hello Good Bye produced a strong finish to take out the 2013 QLD Derby, overhauling the early leader Transcend Time to score by one and three quarter lengths in 30.01.

Group 2 Queensland Derby honour roll

1972 Dixie’s First
1973 Dan Meadow
1974 Ben Hamilton
1975 High Climax
1976 Irish Outlaw
1977 Rebel Attack
1978 Iron Hawk
1979 Smart Mission
1980 Morayfield
1981 Hatari Chief
1982 Duration
1983 Tangleshell
1984 Magic Gull
1985 Kismet Range
1986 Raging Rajah
1987 Track Trump
1988 Markaboy
1989 Nifty Business
1990 Mr Alert
1991 Your Attention
1992 Tears Finito
1993 Dagenham
1994 Jurassic Vapour
1995 Dallas Man
1996 Fear No Judge
1997 Roanokee
1998 Mighty McClurg
1999 Fiery Asset
2000 Placard
2001 Sorcerer
2002 Awesome Machine
2003 Road Closed
2004 Art Mann
2005 Black Enforcer
2006 Superman
2007 Big Swell
2008 Size Can Matter
2009 High Earner
2010 Franklin Style
2011 Bogie King
2012 Bellagio Lad
2013 Hello Good Bye
2014 Flash Reality
2015 Dyna Villa
2016 France Soir

Got Feedback? Join the Discussion. Click Here to Join the Discussion