This Week In Racing History


Gay Banfort won the 1949 Cup, run over 500 yards on grass, by four lengths in 27.3.

True Vintage broke the 457 metres Hobart track record in winning the 1987 TGOTBA Division One Cup by nine lengths in 26.32 from box seven.

Buddy Rich earned the right to represent NSW in the Championship by taking out the NSW elimination title, in 2005. Buddy Rich defeated Power Of Passion by almost three lengths in 29.92, a new race record.

The improvised track at , which had been operational since December 1933 was closed in 1936. A new loam circuit opened a week later.

Blue Lorian won the 2010 National Distance Championship for NSW, scoring by four lengths over South Australian star Satanic Cash with Tasmanian Sitka in third position. Owner-trainer Peter Whyte picked up $50,000 for the win at .

On the same night, NSW made a clean sweep of the national titles when Smooth Fancy won the National Sprint Championship by a head from for trainer Tony Azzopardi.

The NSW National Association (NCA) was officially incorporated in 1933.

Tommie Streaker won the 1998 Wyong Derby by three and a quarter lengths, running 16.40 up the 300 metres straight for trainer .

(Q) defeated Mountain Of Love (NSW) and All Caution (V) in the 2008 National Sprint Championship final, held at Wentworth Park. Knock Norris scored by seven and a half lengths in a fast 29.83. NSW fielded three finalists after Victorian qualifier Mogambo had to be scratched and was replaced by Hendrix.

Hoover Jack set a new track record time of 29.69 for 520 metres at Geelong in 2013, clipping 2/100ths from the previous mark set by Schroder Bale just seven days earlier.

Dusty Rapid won a maiden stake over 457 metres at Harold Park in 1973 in 26.36, breaking the long-held time standard for a maiden set in 1968 by Top Kabana at 26.4. Dusty Rapid was trained by Bob Doak and was a litter brother to the smart Dusty Trail, but had been plagued by injury. Doak considered Dusty Rapid a faster sprinter than his brother and persisted with him. Second in this maiden was future Vic Peters Memorial Classic and Bi-Annual Classic (now Peter Mosman Memorial) finalist Arctic Tiger.

Lord Ballina took out the 1985 Young Star Classic, running 31.14 over the 530 metres at Wentworth Park. This was the last time the Classic was held on the old track. The occasion was saddened by the scratching of Another Flash following the death of his trainer Paul Maroney.


Flashing Floods (V) defeated (Q) in the 2007 final of the National Distance Championship, run over 725 metres at The Meadows.

Macareena won a Harold Park Stake over 500 yards at the big Glebe circuit by six lengths in 1953 and ran 26.5 to equal the track and world record.

Boronia Blossom became the first greyhound to win back-to-back National Distance Championships when she scored in the 1996 version on her home track at for trainer Ron Ball. The victory took her earnings past $200,000.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments