This Week In Racing History


Which Chariot, later to become a pre-potent outcross sire, won his second Australian start, over 375 yards at , in 1960. The UK import had raced with success in England before being brought to Australia. He had won his first start, also over 375 yards at Goulburn, three weeks earlier.

Queensland sprinter Questions caused a minor upset when he defeated champion sprinter Rapid Journey in the 1998 final of the for owner-trainer Dennis Reid. Fellow Queenslander Faithful Hawk was a strong third.

Arvo's Junior took out the 2003 Sir John Dillon Memorial over 715 metres at . In doing so, he notched his 13th successive win on the track and was unbeaten at the distance. The win meant he equalled Striding Ahead's record of 13 consecutive metropolitan wins in Melbourne (which had been achieved at Park).

The Dave Irwin-trained Tommie Streaker won the Dapto Leagues Club Maiden in 1997, scoring by five lengths in a fast 29.85 and earning $20,000 for the win. Tommie Streaker went on to win the 1998 Christmas Gift (), Bulli Gold Plate, Wyong Derby and 1999 Toowoomba Cup.

At a cost of $18 million the new Wentworth Park racetrack and grandstand opened, in 1987. The grass track had race distances of 520 and 720 metres. A crowd estimated at around 7,000 people attended the night. The first race winner (over 520 metres) was War, from box one; the first 720 metres winner was Tiara Rapid; the last race (720 metres) was won by Aunt Becky; the fastest time of the night over 520 metres was 30.20, run by Tiger Flyer; the fastest over 720 metres was 42.13 by former Victorian stayer Sonic Wave, who won a heat of the Sydney Cup. Darinelli Star became the first to fall in a race, the Free For All, won by Flash Jass.

Coorparoo Flyer became the first Queensland sprinter to take out the Championship when he scored in the 1975 event, run over 530 metres at Wentworth Park. Trained by Paul Cauchi, Coorparoo Flyer defeated NSW hope Solid by a head with South Australian Cape Soon third. The winner picked up $8,000 for first.

Champion bitch defeated Dynamic Driver by eight lengths to take out the 1995 Brisbane Cup (520 metres, Albion Park) in a new race record time of 29.89. Flying Amy earned $50,000 for the win.

Tasmanian star Busy Vintage won the 1984 , run over 457 metres at . The David Crosswell-trained sprinter defeated Victorian Eaglehawk Star by three lengths with West Australian Blue Echo third. Blue Echo had won his previous 14 starts on end and was attempting to emulate the effort of South Australian speedster Kate's A Scandal who won the 1981 National Sprint Championship to record her 15th successive win, then an Australian record.

Track specialist Temlee scored a six lengths victory in the 1974 National Sprint Championship, run over 511 metres at Olympic Park. Exiting box four, Temlee defeated South Australian champion Bristol Sue with NSW representative Thunder's Pride third.

NSW sprinter Bob's One took out the 1999 Brisbane Cup by almost six lengths from Queensland stars Faithful Hawk and Questions in a fast 30.02.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments