Queen Lauryn Adds Gold Cup To Sapphire Crown

Australia's Queen of greyhound racing Queen Lauryn proved her status as a champion stayer last night winning the One Cartwright Property Group at Albion Park.

The -trained bitch showed her class from box eight in an all-star field taking the lead on the first turn and stretching out as far as three lengths in front on the first straight.

She kept a two-length lead for the rest of the race before made a last dash at her, but it was too late.

Graham Jose's Group One Sandown Cup winner, Mantra Lad, ran second with outside chance, and another Queensland stayer, Lady running third.

It is the second time Queen Lauryn and Mantra Lad have met with the result now one-all after last year's Group One Shootout at Sandown Park, which saw Mantra Lad run down the Queen to win.

The Cartwright Property Group Gold Cup is a Group One 710m race and has been won by the likes of , Miss Grub, Miss Brook and .

Queen Lauryn is owned by Sky race-caller and Gold Coast Turf Club director Steve Hawkins and his family.

In what is usually a family outing for Queen Lauryn's performances, Mr Hawkins was unfortunately only accompanied by two of his three daughters as wife Kate and his third daughter, Lauryn, who the champion greyhound was named after, were ill and could not make it.

Mr Hawkins said while he was disappointed that his whole family couldn't be there, the win was literally a dream come true.

“I had a dream three weeks ago the Queen Lauryn won her heat out of box eight and then her final out of box eight,” he said.

“And that's what happened.”

Trainer Tony Brett said he couldn't ask for a better night.

“Everything just fell into place tonight, I'm just ecstatic. We couldn't have asked for a better heat, and then to draw eight in the final and win was just fantastic.”

Plans for Queen Lauryn are still undecided but would be one of the frontrunner for an invite for Hawkins-sponsored SuperStayers invitational on July 2. She is then expected to campaign for the .

Mr Hawkins said while the plans were up to Mr Brett he had a few races that he would love to win.

“I would like to win the Darwin Cup, it has always been one that I have had an eye on.”

Queen Lauryn has had a rough step up to the distance after finding Group One success over 520m in the Sapphire Crown at Sandown Park late last year.

Her 710m campaign was stalled last month when she was being prepared for the Sandown Cup, but was struck with illness. Last night's Group win was only her third start over the distance, winning in a quick time of 42.08 and making it three starts for three wins over 710m.

After the placed runners in the Gold Cup the field finished in the following order 4th Forty Twenty ($4.00), 5th She's A Penske ($71.00), 6th Headley Bale ($11.00) 7th Chinatown Lad ($8.00) and Irish Fantasy ($51.00).

Queen Lauryn is a Black bitch whelped December 2005 by from (Bright Ebony x Cheeky Villain) she is raced by Queensland race caller Steve Hawkins and his family. Queen Lauryn is trained by Tony Brett from Grandchester in Queensland and she has raced 38 times for 24 wins and eight placings with the $50,000 first prize for the Gold Cup it took her current stake earnings to $199,925.

The Gold Cup was first run at Gabba in 1974 and was known as the Gabba Gold Cup until 1980 when sponsored by SGIO for a year and by Woolworths of another year. It went back to the Gabba Gold Cup until 1988 when the race became the FAI Gold Cup for four years. It changed to the Albion Park Gold Cup when racing transferred there in 1993 and has been sponsored by current sponsor VIP Petfoods since 2002.

It has been won by some champion stayers over the year's Dotie Wilson the only dog to win it twice in 75 and 76. Mandarin Girl 77, Picture This 82, National Star 85, Trojan Tears 94, Miss Cruise 95, Boronia Blossom 96, Totally Ablaze 98, Questions 99, Total Denial 02, Miss Brook 06, Miss Grub 07 and last year's winner Chinatown Lad.

Goup 1 Gold Cup Honour Roll

  • 1974 Captain Winter
  • 1975 Dotie Wilson
  • 1976 Dotie Wilson
  • 1977 Mandarin Girl
  • 1978 Dusty Ginny
  • 1979 Mockacindy
  • 1980 Gini's Choice
  • 1981 Final Dream
  • 1982 Picture This
  • 1983 High Monakii
  • 1984 Shy Deena
  • 1985 National Star
  • 1986 Clover Park
  • 1987 Shy Nimbus
  • 1988 Gary's Hope
  • 1989 Mary Casey
  • 1990 Rocket To Tubrid
  • 1991 Cobbalena
  • 1992 Elusive Odie
  • 1993 Pilgrim's Star
  • 1994 Trojan Tears
  • 1995 Miss Cruise
  • 1996 Boronia Blossom
  • 1998 Totally Ablaze
  • 1999 Questions
  • 2000 Amazing Dancer
  • 2001 Hotshow Vintage
  • 2002 Total Denial
  • 2003 Dooley's Mist
  • 2004 Toss O'Reilly
  • 2005 Last Quoted
  • 2006 Miss Brook
  • 2007 Miss Grub
  • 2008 Chinatown Lad
  • 2009 Queen Lauryn
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments