WA Greyhound Of The Year Final Three Named

The three final contenders for the 2008 Schweppes WA Greyhound of the Year (GOTY) title have been officially released by Racing and Western Australia.

Elektra, and Miss Slick are the three greyhounds in the running for the Award which honours the best performed greyhound during the calendar year.

One of the three will join Back Tonight who became the thirty-first greyhound on the GOTY honour roll when he was recognized last year for his performances during 2007.

Elektra races 33 times during 2008 for 11 wins and 16 placings for a total of $141,671 in stakes. Her biggest win for the year was her brilliant last-to-first victory against a hot field in the Group 1 during the Carnival.

Elektra retired from racing at the end of September 2008 at over four and a half years of age after a 101-start career which saw her earning pass $255,000.

Eye Murrunna raced 27 times for 15 wins and 7 placings for $83,445 in stakes, plus an additional $18,000 in WESTCHA$E breeders bonuses. His local feature race wins included the and the , whilst he competed successfully interstate with a fourth in the Group 1 at The
Meadows and a third in the Queensland Derby at Albion Park. Eye Murrunna raced for less than seven months in 2008 before suffering a potential career-ending injury in July.

Miss Slick, the youngest of the contenders, raced 42 times for 17 wins and 14 seconds for $161,115 in stakes and $47,600 in WESTCHA$E bonuses. She was victorious in the Group 2 WA Oaks, Group 2 and the after qualifying for no less than ten feature finals during 2008. Miss Slick is the only GOTY contender still racing with her career stakes nearing $175,000 after 51 starts.

The Schweppes Greyhound of the Year Award will be presented at a gala function at the Hyatt Regency Perth on Sunday 1 March 2009.

Similar Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments