Fedex Delivers Thompson The Silver Chief

Fedex just noses out Austin Bale in the 2009 Silver Chief
Fedex just noses out Austin Bale in the 2009 Silver Chief
Fedex ($1.60) arrived just in time to take out the 1 AJS Corporation Silver Chief at The Meadows Saturday night beating a class field in 30.01.

The brindle dog was tested early, but punched through on the first turn to record a sectional of 17.98 down the back and held of the challenges to fall in by a half head after doing a mountain of work through the entire race.

Embattled Victorian greyhound trainer Jason Thompson started the new year as well as he ended the last, and put the Melbourne Cup controversy and pending El Galo swab problems behind him, adding the first Group 1 of 2009 to the 10 group victories he achieved last year. The win was also his fourth in the Silver Chief following wins with Ben's Fury (2005) Awesome Assassin (1996) and Light Of Fire (1994).

The boisterous connections of Fedex cheered as hard as is humanly possible to lift their champ over the line, in what was Fedex's 14th race victory, taking his overall prizemoney to nearly $90,000.

The huge improver in tonight's race was Austin Bale ($55.60) who nearly created a boil over when running second in one of the smallest margins possible, with third placed runner Jarvis Bale ($18.00) a further ½ length away.

The other feature for the night was the Top Cat Video taken out by Coulta Sky in a very impressive 34.64 Coulta Sky managed to run past favourite down the back straight and then had to dig deep to hold off the same greyhound right on the post to win by the shortest possible margin, a nose.

Coulta Sky is trained by Robert Britton and was the greyhound's 10th career victory.

Both features provided great entertainment for the huge crowd on course, with punters faring well both on and off course betting up substantially

In the Silver Chief after the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th ($18.40), 5th Juddua Bale ($11.60), 6th Black Eight ($36.20) 7th Eighth Wonder ($18.30) and Din's Son ($6.60).

Fedex is raced by the Moss Syndicate and trained by Jason Thompson at Pearcedale in Victoria. He is a Brindle Dog whelped December 2006 by Primo Uno from Tranquil Goddess ( x ).

Fedex has won 14 of his 25 starts and has been placed on three occasions he has an outstanding record at the Meadows winning five of his seven starts. With the $50,000 first prize for the Silver Chief it took his current stake earnings to $87,625. Continued on Page 3…

The Classic is one steeped in tradition, first being run in 1964. Directors of the Melbourne Greyhound Racing association saw fit to name The Classic after the greyhound “Silver Chief” who was whelped in 1936 and owned by Ray Herbert.

Silver Chief was a “Waterloo Cup” winner in 1939 and performed admirably on the speed circuit as well. He raced in both Melbourne and Sydney and was keenly sought after for stud duties once his racing career was finished.

The cream of racing have won this event referred to as the Derby of Greyhound Racing.

Champions such as Plunder Road, Black Diro, Satan's Legend, Tempix, Chariot Supreme, Ginger, Light of Fire and Awesome Assassin to name a few. Many have gone on to produce sons who have also won the Classic.

The mighty Tempix won in 1978 then produced sons who won in (81) Tempix Image and Bold Assail in 1982.

Australian super sire Chariot Supreme won the race in record time in 1983. His progeny took out the honours in 1986 (Hopeful Supreme), 1989 (Autumn Chariot) and 1991 (Bomber Gleeson).

In recent years Light of Fire won in 1994 then produced greats such as Awesome Assassin and . Awesome Assassin went on to sire 2005 winner Ben's Fury.

Listed below is the star studded Silver Chief honour roll:

    Silver Chief Honour Roll
  • 1964 Barunah
  • 1965 Spartan Prince
  • 1966 Phantom's Return
  • 1967 Lord Baden
  • 1968 Dupondy Two
  • 1969 Plunder Road
  • 1970 Black Diro
  • 1971 Michael Takiri
  • 1972 Getaway
  • 1973 Flash Gordon
  • 1974 Petillant
  • 1975 Nigger Chimes
  • 1976 Fritz Mactavish
  • 1977 Satan's Legend
  • 1978 Tempix
  • 1979 San Remo
  • 1980 Mork The Stork
  • 1981 Tempix Image
  • 1982 Bold Assail
  • 1983 Chariot Supreme
  • 1984 Rumpus Pappa
  • 1985 Supreme Spot
  • 1986 Hopeful Supreme
  • 1987 Calamity Kid
  • 1988 Ginger
  • 1989 Autumn Chariot
  • 1990 Enfield
  • 1991 Bomber Gleeson
  • 1992 Nevik
  • 1993 Plugger Fever
  • 1994 Light Of Fire
  • 1995 Zealous Guy
  • 1996 Awesome Assassin
  • 1997 Hotshot
  • 1998 “Not Held”
  • 1999 Jamella Prince
  • 1999 Kantarn Bale
  • 2000 Dave's Mentor
  • 2001 Burali Bale
  • 2002 “Not Held”
  • 2003 Jimmy Neutron
  • 2004 Cool
  • 2005 Ben's Fury
  • 2006 Closing Argument
  • 2007 Meticulous
  • 2008 Regal Thyme
  • 2009 Fedex
Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] the first Group 1 of 2009 race already decided and many other heats and semi’s of other Group Races already drawn to […]