Brisbane Cup betting

Fast Times Brisbane Cup
PIC: Box 1 Photography.

The Group 1 Brisbane Cup is one of the flagship events on the Queensland greyhound racing calendar and is run over the 520m sprint trip at Albion Park.

The race attracts some of the top sprinters across the country, with the final, held in December, worth a sizeable $75,000 to the winner.

The event has been won by some of the finest chasers the sport has seen, with the 2017 edition won by Tony Brett’s Fast Times.

About the Group 1 Brisbane Cup

The inaugural running of the Brisbane Cup was held at The Gabba in 1972 and was known as the Gabba Sprint Championship until 1975.

The first edition of the race was taken out by Victorian greyhound Garron Court on October 26, which used box two to perfection, keeping her perfect record at the track intact, making it six wins from as many appearances at The Gabba.

From 1976 onwards the race has been known as the Brisbane Cup, with the event run over 558 metres at The Gabba until 1993 after which it moved to greyhound racing’s new Queensland headquarters, Albion Park, and over today’s distance of 520 metres.

The race is run in December each year, although it had previously been held in October or September up until 2000.

The first Queensland greyhound to win the race was Top Simbi, which won by five lengths to take out the 1993 final. The only dog to win the event twice has been Tricky Creek, which saluted in 2001 and 2002.

The most successful trainer in the event is Tony Brett who has won the race four times – Bogie Leigh (2003), Glen Gallon (2011), Thirty Talks (2016) and Fast Times (2017).

Jason Thompson has won three Brisbane Cup titles – Uno Joel (2007), El Galo (2008) and Got A Moment (2012).

While the honour roll is packed with former stars, some great performers have also been defeated in the final including Roanokee (second 1997), Rapid Journey (second 1998), Dashing Corsair (second 2009), Xylia Allen (fourth 2013) and Flash Reality (seventh 2015).

Betting on the Group 1 Brisbane Cup

Being one of the pinnacle events in the Sunshine State, there is always plenty of betting interest on the Group 1 Brisbane Cup.

Subsequently, most online bookmakers offer fixed odds betting on the final once the field and box draw have been decided, allowing punters to shop around to get the best price about their chosen runner.

Additionally, punters can also claim lucrative sign-up bonuses when betting through corporate bookmakers which can make wagering on massive group 1 events even more enticing.

For more information on the sign-up bonuses available through out recommended bookies, check out Australian Racing Greyhound’s free bets page.

Other advantages of betting with online bookmakers, particularly in the big events, is the ability to take advantage of some of the great promotional deals – for example some bookies may refund your stake in bonus bets if your dog runs second in the final.

United States Brisbane Cup Bookmakers

Brisbane Cup Bookmakers

Group 1 Brisbane Cup – the recent years

  • Fast Times became just the fifth greyhound to complete the Winter Cup – Brisbane Cup double with a tenacious win in the 2017 race. It was only a narrow win, defeating a gallant Slick by three quarters of a length across the line for leading Queensland trainer Tony Brett.

    2017 Brisbane Cup results

    December 7, 2017. 7/12/2017 Albion Park. First Prize: $75,250
    Winner: Fast Times (Barcia Bale X Clockwise) Black Dog. Whelped: 5 Apr 2015
    Trainer: Tony Brett Owner: Terry Hill
    Winning Time: 29.77 Margins:0.75 X 4.75
    Others in Finishing Order: Slick, Alpha Aion, Spring Time Girl, Adhara Steel, Cyn’s Magic, Off And On, Snug.

  • Thirty Talks and Zabdon Ferrari gave champion trainer Tony Brett the quinella in the $75,000-to-the-winner event. It was the second group win for Thirty Talks within a fortnight, having also taken out the Group 3 Ipswich Cup in November.

    2016 Brisbane Cup results

    December 9, 2016. Albion Park BGRC First Prize $75,250 Thirty Talks (Where’s Pedro x Unfinished) Born: June 2014 Brindle Dog
    Owner: Leonardo Antonio, Trainer: Tony Brett.
    Time: 29.57. Margins: 0.75 x 5.5.
    Others in finishing order: Zabdon Ferrari, Outside Pass, Blazin Bomber, Whata Nice Size, Lady Abigail, Crazy Vixon, Not Like Tommy.

  • Champion greyhound Dyna Double One continued his hot run of form, landing the Melbourne Cup – Brisbane Cup double in stunning fashion. The son of Barcia Bale and Crystin Bale clocked a flying 29.71, defeating the classy Cyndie’s Magic and Fantastic Spiral which filled out the minor placings.

    2015 Brisbane Cup results

    December 3, 2015. Albion Park BGRC $100,450
    Winner: Dyna Double One (Barcia Bale x Crystin Bale) Born: March 2013 Black Dog
    Owner: Brendan Wheeler, Trainer: Andrea Dailly.
    Time: 29.71. Margins: 4.25 x Head.
    Others in finishing order: Cyndie’s Magic, Fantastic Spiral, Simpatico, Old Spice, Cervelo, Flash Reality, Chatsworthy.

  • Keybow took his career earnings beyond $480,000 with a brilliant win in the 2014 Brisbane Cup. The son of Take The Kitty and Key Exit defeated Fusaichi Kahn by two-and-three-quarter lengths in 29.98, recording his 18th victory at start 38.

    2014 Brisbane Cup results

    December 4, 2014. Albion Park, BGRC First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Keybow (Take the Kitty x Key Exit) Born: December 2011 Black Dog
    Owner: Kelvin Lean. Trainer: Darren McDonald.
    Time: 29.98. Margins: 3.25L.
    Others in finishing order: Fusaichi Kahn, Kiss Me Ketut, Cyndie’s Special, Iva Vision, Le Sirenuse, You Can Talk, Exhibitionist.

  • Arguably one of the most popular greyhounds in recent years, Kiss Me Ketut scored a deserved group 1 win in the 2013 Cup. The black dog defeated a star studded field including the likes of Xylia Allen and Farmor Las Vegas, clocking a fast 29.82 in the process.

    2013 Brisbane Cup results

    December 5, 2013. Albion Park BGRC. First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Kiss me Ketut (Bombastic Shiraz x Spiral Siyan) Aug 2011 Black Dog.
    Owner and Trainer; David Burnett.
    Time: 29.82. Margin: Neck x 2.25
    Others in finishing order: Farmor Las Vegas, Battistuzzi, Xylia Allen, Captain Clarrie, Tomac Bale, Top Story, Hawko’s Mistake.

Group 1 Brisbane Cup – honour roll

1972 Garron Court
1973  Top Simbi
1974  Mister Oollee
1975  Alpha Brava
1976  Clover Duke
1977  Rebel Attack
1978  Young Breeze
1979 Acclaim Star
1980  General Jeff
1981  Picture This
1982  Peter Glider
1983  Acacia Park
1984  National Lass
1985 Super Max
1986 Pretty Fearless
1987 Whip Tip
1988 Dancing Gamble
1989 Golden Fox
1990 Whisky Bale
1991 No It’s Not
1992 White Coonowrin
1993 Star Title
1994 Toss The Teddy
1995 Flying Amy
1996 Silver Pageant
1997 Barrio Babe
1998 Questions
1999 Bob’s One
2000 Kantarn Bale
2001 Tricky Creek
2002 Tricky Creek
2003 Bogie Leigh
2004 Malfoy
2005 Pororoca
2006 Pure Burst
2007 Uno Joel
2008 El Galo
2009 Mr Metz
2010 He Knows Uno
2011 Glen Gallon
2012 Got A Moment
2013 Kiss Me Ketut
2014 Keybow
2015 Dyna Double One
2016 Thirty Talks
2017 Fast Times
2018 Hasten Slowly