2024 State Of Origin greyhound teams announced

Queensland and New South Wales have announced their teams, for the 2024 Origin Greyhound Series, scheduled to kick off at Albion Park on Thursday, June 13.

The Maroons are determined to secure a consecutive series victory and have put together a strong lineup featuring , the reigning Queensland , and Australia's best stayer, .

Jay Is Jay, under the training of Selena Zammit, had an enormous 2023 season with 15 wins out of 26 races. Notably, he clinched a win in the 2023 Chase (MDC) at Wentworth Park, set a track record at Albion Park, and triumphed in both the Group 2 Queensland Derby, and Group 3 Queensland Flame.

Valpolicella, trained by , is aiming to become Australia's 15th greyhound to surpass $1 million in prizemoney. With a record of 53 races that include 29 wins and 17 placings, she is currently considered Australia's best stayer.

On the other side, NSW will be showcasing Palawa King as their reigning NSW Greyhound of the Year. Palawa King emerged victorious in last year's Origin Distance race.

NSW has also named Mackenna as their head-to-head chaser to go up against Jay Is Jay. Mackenna is the 2024 Group 1 Golden Easter Egg winner.

2024 State Of Origin Greyhound Series QLD vs NSW Teams

QLD vs NSW Teams – Origin Greyhound Series
Event QLD Greyhound QLD Trainer NSW Greyhound NSW Trainer
Origin Sprint Selena Zammit Zipping Megatron
Bear's Bullet Travis Elson Overflow Beau Craig Chappelow
Cluster Selena Zammit Midnight Spritz Michelle Sultana
Magistrate Good Odds Cobber Frank Hurst
R: Kahlo Hayze Sandra Hunt R: Superstar Ethics
Origin Match Race Jay Is Jay Selena Zammit Mackenna Michelle Sultana
R: Kahlo Hayze Sandra Hunt R: Zipping Megatron Tony Brett
Origin Distance Fast Milkman Tim Britton Palawa King Jack Smith
First Picked Tim Britton Ritza Piper Joseph Scerri
Mystical Beck Karen Kleinhans Check the Radar Peter Rodgers
Valpolicella Tony Zammit Fahey's Magic Barton
R: Kushti Bok John McCarthy R: Kenzie Baskin Tyson Barton

Greyhound Racing News

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments