El Galo Stuns The Bendigo Cup Heats

El Galo (Where’s Pedro ~ ), the Queensland bred flying machine that was a recent high profile purchase for Jason Thompson and partner Seona Hood, went within a 1/2 length of erasing Slater from the record books last night in the $25,000 to the final winner Group 2 Bendigo Cup Heats.

Flying out from the favourable box 1 draw, the 31kg brindle dog went to the first section in an equal best of night 6.32 and then ran strongly through to the second mark in a best of night 12.36, which was 2 3/4 lengths quicker than anything else on the night to that point. As if that wasn’t enough to confirm the final pre-post favouritism, El Galo then managed to rattle off a run home time of 11.29, which from our calculations was easily the quickest of the run home times on the night.

Other winners were Lochinui (Mountain Dry ~ My Girl Georgina) in 24.00 for Tony Alvaro and Jason Thompson, Pure Conquest ( ~ Lara Flynn) again in 24.00 for Kon Kola and Darren Murray, Limpinwood Rex ( ~ Limpinwood Lass) in 24.22 for and R Foster, Kyra Shiraz (Elite State ~ Mimi Shiraz) in 24.23 for and owners N Mills and Ricky Stamford, recent unlucky Easter Egg Semi Finals runner Paddy’s Flame (Larkhill Jo ~ Miss Holly) in 24.22, and last start Healesville Cup victor Taipan Bale, for Graeme Bate and . (Country Willee ~ Private Affair) scrapes in to the final eight as the quickest second of the 7 heats for owner D Allen and trainer John Maple.

Race No. 82008 MTD Bendigo Gold Cup Final20:10
special event over 430 metres at Bendigo
Of $35,800 prizemoney. 1st $25,000, 2nd $7,200, 3rd $3600, 4th $0, Unplaced runners $0


1Limpinwood Rex32221124.2224.22Graeme Bate

2Kyra Shirz42132124.2324.23Dave Burnett

3El Galo41125123.6523.65Jason Thompson

4Lochinui45412124.0024.00Jason Thompson

5Taipan Bale47111123.9723.97Graeme Bate

6Paddy’s Flame44143124.2224.22

7Pure Conquest41618124.0024.00Darren Murray

8Galba Chris37118224.1124.11John Maple

9El Masri Bale45121224.1924.19

10Nitro Nori51512224.2324.23Darren McDonald

El Galo who now boasts the good record of 23 starts for 11 wins and 7 placings, was an early exit from the 2008 Golden Easter Egg Heats at his last start and prior to that was an unlucky second to Tasman Queen in the 2008 Group 1 Australian Cup, when he led everywhere bar the post. That looks like it will all turn around this Sunday 23rd march 2008 in the Bendigo Gold Cup Final with the box draw ensuring he will almost certainly be able tio burn off the two inside runners.

More Greyhounds News

Notify of
1 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] running of the Bendigo Cup started the fabulous run of wins for champion sprinter El Galo, when he went within a .5 of a length of erasing Slater’s Bendigo 430m Track Record and went on to annex the first of four Country Cups that […]