National Derby betting

National Derby

The National Derby is the most sought after age-restricted event in NSW and is held at the state’s premier track, Wentworth Park.

The Derby is a group 1 feature, run over 520m, with the event offering $75,000-to-the-winner.

The Derby is open to male greyhounds only, with bitches competing in the National Futurity which is run on the same night.

The most recent edition of the race was won by Big Daddy Bee for trainer Ray Smith.

Betting on the National Derby

Being a group 1, there is always enormous betting interest on the National Derby as it features the best young male pups racing across Australia.

All of Australian Racing Greyhound’s recommended online bookmakers offer betting on the series, with most featuring fixed odds for both the heats and final in the lead-up.

Additionally, bookies such as Bet365 offer all-in markets, giving punters the chance to snag some value by backing the greyhound they believe can win the final prior to the heats being run and won.

This is, of course, much riskier than betting on the Derby once the final field is released, but it can also be very lucrative if you are skilful enough to snare the value.

William Hill sign up bonus

There are no odds available for the 2018 National Derby, but be sure to check this page in the lead up to secure the best odds available.

Group 1 National Derby – race history

The National Derby was first held in July 1963 and was run over 530m at Wentworth Park on the old grass track. The winner of that race was Keen Linen which collected the lucrative £1,500 prize money purse, making it the richest greyhound race in the country at the time.

The race moved to Harold Park in 1987 whilst the refurbishment of Wentworth Park took place, with ‘Wenty’ the home for the feature once more between 1988 and 2008.

In 2009, the Derby was moved to The Gardens, making it the only provincial track in the state to host group 1 racing at the time.

After six years of being run in the Hunter Valley, the feature was once again transferred back to Wentworth Park in 2015 when it was won by arguably the greatest chaser the sport has seen, Fernando Bale.

The mighty Fernando isn’t the only superstar to have taken out the Derby, with the honour roll also boasting names such as Roman Earl, Worth Doing, Fedex and Elite Blue Size.

Additionally, the race has also seen some beaten stars including Ragsie (fourth 1972), Temlee (sixth 1974), Acclaim Star (fifth 1979), Glider’s Son (seventh 1981), Stately Bird (third 2000), Go Wild Teddy (second 2001), Whisky Assassin (fourth 2004) and St Pierre (last 2010).

There has only ever been one dual winner of the Derby, Steelflex who made the race his own in 1974 and 1975, scoring by a head and three-quarters of a length respectively.

Who will add their name to the honour roll in 2017? Only time will tell.

Group 1 National Derby – the recent years

2017: Big Daddy Bee upstaged some of his more fancied rivals to score a terrific victory in the 2017 National Derby. The brindle dog stalked Nangar Rock throughout the race before unleashing a powerful finishing burst, winning by one-and-one-quarter lengths in 29.74.

2016: Magic Spring gave Central Coast trainer Noelene Holloway her biggest career win when defeating a quality field to snare the title. A son of Spring Gun and Fascinate Marina, Magic Spring ran a nippy 29.96, defeating Nangar Flame and Diego Bale.

2015: Fernando Bale scored what would become the first of eight group 1 wins in the 2015 National Derby. Andrea Dailly’s white and dark brindle speedster broke the hearts of his rivals, stopping the clock in 29.87.

2014: At the last running at the Gardens, Zipping Brock gave owner breeders Marty and Fiona Hallinan a deserved group 1 success. The son of Mantra Lad and Cho Chang scored by a narrow neck margin for trainer Peter Dapiran, with the time being a blistering 29.46 over the 515m sprint.

Group 1 National Derby – honour roll

1963 Keen Linen
1964 Flying Myobb
1965 Chariot Charm
1966 Roman Earl
1967 Mister Moss
1968 Second Stage
1969 Abbey Road
1970 Arthur’s Desire
1971 Bomber’s Gift
1972 Young Moss
1973 Rushin’ Moss
1974 Steelflex
1975 Steelflex
1976 Baguio
1977 Chief Holly
1978 True Leader
1979 Tegimi
1980 General Jeff
1981 Handicap
1982 Lord Tegimi
1983 World Park Ned
1984 Inch Time
1985 Rapid Supreme
1986 Holstein Boy
1987 Shy Sultan
1988 Clover Chief
1989 Worth Doing
1990 Master Hilo
1991 Pretty Tardy
1992 Little Denver
1993 Major Gossip
1994 Indian Dance
1995 Dallas Man
1996 Cattle Drive
1997 Comrade In Arms
1998 Mepunga Blaze
1999 Hahn Bale
2000 Fond Regards
2001 Mean Bean
2002 Medinah
2003 Greasy Grizzly
2004 Pacific Sky
2005 Eiffella
2006 Brother Knows
2007 Slater
2008 Borat
2009 Fedex
2010 Elite Blue Size
2011 Bogie King.
2012 Sure As
2013 Jagger Swagger
2014 Zipping Brock
2015 Fernando Bale
2016 Magic Spring
2017 Big Daddy Bee

Got Feedback? Join the Discussion. Click Here to Join the Discussion