Paws of Thunder

Paws of Thunder greyhound betting

The Paws of Thunder, originally known as the NSW St. Ledger, is one of the most revered races in in the state, having been run for the first time in 1957 when taken out by Idle Sign.

The event, run over 520m, is held at Wentworth Park, and has been run as a Group 1 feature since 2001, the same year in which it was renamed as the Paws of Thunder. 

The Paws of Thunder has a winner’s cheque of $75,000, making it one of the largest payouts at Wentworth Park each year behind the $250,000-to-the-winner Golden Easter Egg. 

For many years, the Paws of Thunder was conducted in October, with the date changing after the 2011 running. The race was not run in 2012, but recommenced in January 2013 and has been run in that month since, spearheading some sensational racing in the Harbour City during the summer months.

The race is open to the best 64 greyhounds each year.

The most recent edition of the Paws of Thunder was run on January 21, 2017, and was won by Victorian greyhound Shima Bar, trained by Andrea Dailly, which defeated Clock’s Ticking in 29.92.

United States Paws of Thunder Bookies

Paws of Thunder Bookies

Betting on the Paws of Thunder

Being one of the flagship races in NSW, betting activity is normally very high for the Paws of Thunder series. As it is a Group 1, all online bookmakers offer betting on the feature, with most having markets open the week leading up to the final after the box draw has been finalised.

Bookies such as Bet 365 also have all-in markets throughout the series, offering odds on each greyhound to win the final as soon as the draw for the heats is released. This is terrific for punters who think they have spotted the potential winner early, with generous odds usually available for some of the series’ leading contenders.

When betting on greyhound races such as the Paws of Thunder, particularly through the all-in markets, it is often viable to place wagers on several greyhounds due to the fact that great odds are normally there for most chasers in the series.

This is an excellent opportunity for punters to seize the value on offer with the sign-up deals through Australian Racing Greyhound’s recommended bookmakers, all of which will match your initial deposit in bonus bets, effectively doubling your money.

Group 1 Paws of Thunder – the recent years

  • All the pre-race buzz leading into the 2019 Paws of Thunder was about Poke The Bear, but when the champ missed the jump fast beginner Buck’s Future had the race at his mercy. Buck’s Future speared out from box seven to claim an early lead and was never headed after a fall behind the leader. Cash Point was storming home as they entered the straight but Buck’s Future had enough of a lead to secure the win.

    2018 Paws of Thunder results

    January 19, 2019. 19/1/2019 Wentworth Park First Prize:$75,000
    Winner: Buck’s Future (Buck Fever x Midnight News) Black Dog DOB:16 May 2016
    Owner: Robert Jones Trainer: Sydney Swain
    Finishing Time: 29.80
    Others in Finishing Order: Cash Point, Miss Splendamiro, Poke The Bear, All On Amy, Nangar Jack, Federal Lilly, Caitlyn Keeping.

  • Raw Ability collected his second group 1 win when saluting in the most recent edition of the Paws of Thunder. Trained in Victoria by Anthony Azzopardi, the black dog matched motors with Up Hill Jill in the early stages before slipping into top gear and racing clear to defeat fast-finishing Queenslander Slick in 29.86.

    2018 Paws of Thunder results

    January 20, 2018. 20/1/2018 Wentworth Park First Prize:$75,000
    Winner: Raw Ability (Barcia Bale X Bugatti Flyer) Black Dog DOB:7 Mar 2015
    Owner: Kylee Osborne Trainer: Anthony Azzopardi
    Finishing Time: 29.86
    Others in Finishing Order: Slick, Up Hill Jill, Ritza Lenny, Dual Keroma, Bogan Doonie, It’s A Party, Trip To Eden.

  • Shima Bar stamped himself as a pup to follow with a tough win in the 2017 Paws of Thunder final. Trained by Andrea Dailly, the black dog used box one to perfection, charging clear in the home straight to record his ninth career win at start 13.

    2017 Paws of Thunder results

    January 21, 2017. Wentworth Park NSW GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Shima Bar (Barcia Bale x Shimaguni) Black Dog. DOB: Feb 2015
    Owners: Cummings Gleeson, Trainer: Andrea Dailly.
    Finishing Time: 29.92. Margins: 1.75 x 3.25.
    Others in finishing order: Clocks Ticking, Falcons Fury, Brad Hill Billy, Striker Light, Blabba Mouth, Lowanna’s Son, Magic Lace.

  • Most of the hype in the 2016 Paws of Thunder final surrounded boom sprinter Zambora Brockie, but when the lids flew open it was his lesser known kennel mate Asa Flying Spur which stole the show. The handy sprinter began brilliantly, racing straight to the front and leading all the way to salute in a quick 29.83.

    2016 Paws of Thunder results

    January 16, 2016. Wentworth Park GBOTA First Prize $75,000
    Winner: Asa Flying Spur (Kinloch Brae x Cawbourne Shine) Born: Jan 2014 Black Dog
    Owner: Asa. Trainer: Anthony Azzopardi.
    Time: 29.83. Margins: 1.25 x 1.25.
    Others in finishing order: Elfen Bale, Smart Missile, Nangar Flame, Helga Bale, Zambora Brockie, Tap Out Rose, Paloma Lago.

Group 1 Paws of Thunder Honour Roll

It takes an almighty sprinter to capture the Paws of Thunder. Throughout the years the feature has been won by some of the best greyhounds to have ever graced the track such as Black Top, Glider’s Son, Promises Free, Winifred Bale, Pure Octane, Leprechaun Pace, Cindeen Shelby and Lochinvar Marlow.

Below is a list of every winner, dating back to the races’ inception in 1957.

  • 1957 Idle Sign
  • 1958 Ebony Minda
  • 1959 Super Samson
  • 1960 Constant Raider
  • 1961 Elsie Moss
  • 1962 Black Top
  • 1963 Miss Warcroft
  • 1964 Revival King
  • 1965 Daily Tide
  • 1966 Sunset Fire
  • 1967 Another Glitter
  • 1968 Zoom Top
  • 1969 Beau Brin
  • 1970 Size Seven
  • 1971 Romantic Top
  • 1972 Likely Light
  • 1973 Trella Light
  • 1974 Busy’s Chief
  • 1975 Mighty Aussie
  • 1976 Palaver
  • 1977 Fine Arama
  • 1978 Oberon Lily
  • 1979 Lord Raleigh
  • 1980 Glider’s Son
  • 1981 Promises Free
  • 1982 Winifred Bale
  • 1983 Winston Lass
  • 1984 Beach Rhythm
  • 1985 Another Flash
  • 1986 Memories Gate
  • 1987 See Yah
  • 1988 Grizzly Bear
  • 1989 Jessica Kate
  • 1990 Dixie Lass
  • 1991 Little Denver
  • 1992 Lago
  • 1993 Leon Mal
  • 1994 Zazziam
  • 1995 Nine Inch Nails
  • 1996 Tamborine Dancer
  • 1997 Elle’s Commando
  • 1998 Waiwera Marika
  • 1999 Stately Bird
  • 2000 Some Secret
  • 2001 Suellen Bale
  • 2002 Modern Assassin
  • 2003 Winsome Shot
  • 2004 Kobble Rock
  • 2005 Pure Octane
  • 2006 Suave Fella
  • 2007 Leprechaun Pace
  • 2008 One Tree Hill
  • 2009 Cindeen Shelby
  • 2010 Lochinvar Marlow
  • 2011 Fancy Will
  • 2012 (Not Held)
  • 2013 Sheikha
  • 2014 Iona Seven
  • 2015 Dyna Villa

  • 2016 Asa Flying Spur
  • 2017 Shima Bar
  • 2018 Raw Ability
  • 2019 Buck’s Future
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments